Adina Pintilie: You Are Another Me – A Cathedral of the Body Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart

You Are Another Me – A Cathedral of the Body is the latest part of a collective and participatory project by artist and filmmaker Adina Pintilie. Her longstanding artistic research explores the politics and poetics of the body and intimacy, initiated with her feature film Touch Me Not (winner of the Golden Bear at the Berlinale 2018). The multimedia installation planned for Stuttgart continues the artist’s recent series of works. It creates a space of togetherness expanded into the virtual, which transcends borders, norms and binary thought patterns.

“Physicality and sexuality are a central part of our humanity, but are still granted primarily to those whose bodies and preferences conform to certain norms. Adina Pintilie approaches this subject with great sensitivity and calm. The long-term perspective that she grants her project forms the basis for the careful and respectful inclusion of all the actors involved at eye level. In this way, a setting can be created in which the visitors can also be opened to new worlds of experience and feeling”, says the jury.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
November 23, 2021

3 Questions to… Iris Dressler, director Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart

Describe your project concept in 140 characters.

The project explores questions of intimacy from the perspectives of so-called disabled and non-disabled people of different sexual orientations in the form of a participatory multi-media installation.

What will you use the funding amount of 50,000 euros for?

First and foremost for the fees and travel expenses of the participating artists, performers and contributors, the spatial realisation of the exhibition, the mediation and participation programme as well as production resources.

What I wish for Germany...

…that the power of art is more widely recognised and embraced.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank

Adina Pintilie: You Are Another Me – A Cathedral of the Body Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart

You Are Another Me – A Cathedral of the Body (dt.: Du bist ein anderes ich – eine Kathedrale des Körpers) ist der jüngste Teil eines kollektiven und partizipativen Projekts der Künstlerin und Filmemacherin Adina Pintilie. Ihre langjährige künstlerische Forschung erkundet die Politik und Poetik von Körper und Intimität, die mit ihrem Kinofilm Touch Me Not (Gewinner des Goldenen Bären der Berlinale 2018) initiiert wurde. Die für Stuttgart geplante Multimedia-Installation setzt die jüngste Werkreihe der Künstlerin fort. Sie kreiert einen ins Virtuelle erweiterten Raum des Miteinanders, der Grenzen, Normen und binäre Denkmuster überschreitet.

„Körperlichkeit und Sexualität sind zentraler Teil unseres Menschseins, werden aber noch immer vor allem denjenigen zugestanden, deren Körper und Vorlieben bestimmten Normen entsprechen. Adina Pintilie nähert sich diesem Thema mit großer Sensibilität und Ruhe an. Die Langzeitperspektive, die sie ihrem Projekt dabei zugesteht, bildet die Grundlage, dass alle beteiligten Darsteller:innen auf Augenhöhe behutsam und respektvoll einbezogen werden. So kann ein Setting geschaffen werden, in dem sich auch die Besucher:innen für neue Erfahrungs- und Gefühlswelten öffnen lassen“, sagt die Jury.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
23. Januar 2023

3 Fragen an… Iris Dressler, Direktorin Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart

Beschreiben Sie Ihre Projektidee in 140 Zeichen.

Das Projekt geht in Form einer partizipativen Mulitmediainstallation Fragen von Intimität aus den Perspektiven sogenannter behinderter und nicht-behinderter Menschen unterschiedlicher sexueller Orientierung nach.

Wofür werden Sie die Fördersumme von 50.000 Euro verwenden?

In erster Linie für die Honorare und Reisekosten der beteiligten Künstler:innen, Darsteller:innen und Beitragenden, die räumliche Umsetzung der Ausstellung, das Vermittlungs- und Partizipationsprogramm sowie Produktionsmittel.

Ich wünsche mir für Deutschland…

… dass die Kraft der Kunst stärker anerkannt und aufgegriffen wird.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank