16.10.2018

The awardees 2018

More than 120 non-profit initiatives followed the second open call from “The Power of the Arts.” The initiative promotes projects that advocate for an open society and a new “We” through culture. This year, there were four projects that particularly caught the jury’s attention. Each is receiving a price of 50,000 euros.

The jury is comprised of Dr. Hans-Jörg Clement (Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung), Samy Deluxe (rapper), Ralf Fücks (author), Kübra Gümüsay (publicist and activist), Erika Hoffmann (Sammlung Hoffmann), Lamya Kaddor (author and Islamic Studies scholar), Diana Kinnert (politician, entrepreneur, and author), and Clemens Schick (actor).

“We have the great fortune to be living in a society that has never been as diverse and liberal as it is today. Yet current debates do show this status by no means is to be misunderstood as being undisputed. That is why it is more important than ever to carry on this initiative. It is a joy to again be awarding four projects that are exemplary in their engagement for our open society despite a wide array of resistance,” emphasizes Elfriede Buben, Head of Corporate Responsibility at Philip Morris GmbH

The jury has awarded the following projects:

  • Kulturisten Hoch 2, Stiftung Generationen-Zusammenhalt

KULTURISTEN2, A Foundation for Generational Solidarity

This initiative creates tandems between senior citizens and secondary school students in upper classes, who then attend cultural events together, such as exhibitions, theater, and opera. It uses the connecting power of art and culture to initiate contact among people of different backgrounds, generations, and cultures, and to foster solidarity in Hamburg’s neighborhoods. The award is designated for enabling the project to scale to additional districts and cities.

The jury states: “This initiative facilitates low-threshold access to culture and promotes intergenerational encounters. Free from moral judgement, participants are picked up from their often isolated and lonely day-to-day lives while teenagers are encouraged to actively contribute to the shaping of our society.”

  • Migrantpolitan, Kampnagel

MIGRANTPOLITAN, Kampnagel

For many refugee artists, the self-managed event center Migrantpolitan represents their start in the creative field and creates real long-term professional perspectives. With the help of this award, the 12-person team will be expanded into a professional ensemble. They will be using the prize money to jointly produce the soap “RAMADRAM,” which is scheduled for distribution via YouTube for Ramadan 2019.

“The planned soap is an authentic reflection of Arab series culture. The underrepresented inside perspective is rendered tangible in a humorous, yet serious manner. The often artistic-biographical approach provides for a constructive perspective change. At times ironic, its realization represents an alternative cure in these tense times,” says the jury.

  • Musik für einen Stadtteil, Stadtteilkantorat Mümmelmannsberg & Trimum e.V.

MUSIK FÜR EINEN STADTTEIL, Gemeindezentrum Mümmelmannsberg & Trimum e.V.

In Hamburg’s underprivileged district of Mümmelmannsberg, this interreligious community project advocates to dismantle feelings of alienation and jointly develops musical event formats with Muslim, Christian, and Jewish musicians and artists. The mutual music-making aims to provide space for expression to the many voices coming from the district’s more than one hundred cultures of origin. This prize means the project can be reliably sustained for another year.

The jury explains: “This project sets an entire city district into motion. Its intergenerational, interreligious, and intercultural program provides a stage for the wide variety of identities. The initiators’ approach sends a strong signal: Making these encounters possible represents an attitude on life.”

  • Weiter Schreiben, wearedoingit e.V.

WEITER SCHREIBEN, wearedoingit e.V.

This initiative of 100 women enables female refugee writers to continue their work in exile. Together with renowned German authors like Annett Gröschner, Nora Bossong, and Nino Haratischwili, the work of the artists in exile is placed in the foreground. With the prize money an artistically designed print magazine will extend the current online platform.

“The publishing plans for this unique exchange will create stories of far-reaching impact. Despite the biographical ties, the quality of this literary work is in the foreground. Author Annika Reich and her co-initiators not only succeed in closing a system gap, they also bring calm and reflection to an agitated debate,” explains the jury.

 

The initiative “The Power of the Arts” has now been hosted for the second time in a row by Philip Morris GmbH. For decades now, the company has been committed to social inclusion for everyone, and since the 60s has been well known as a sponsor of large-scale collections, exhibitions, and artists.

16.10.2018

Das sind die Preisträger 2018

Mehr als 120 gemeinnützige Initiativen sind dem zweiten offenen Aufruf der Initiative „The Power of the Arts“ gefolgt. Gefördert werden Projekte, die sich mittels der Kultur für eine offene Gesellschaft und ein „neues Wir“ engagieren. Vier Vorhaben konnten die Jury besonders überzeugen. Sie werden jeweils mit 50.000 Euro ausgezeichnet.

Die Jury besteht aus Dr. Hans-Jörg Clement (Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung), Samy Deluxe (Rapper), Ralf Fücks (Autor), Kübra Gümüsay (Publizistin und Aktivistin), Erika Hoffmann (Sammlung Hoffmann), Lamya Kaddor (Autorin und Islamwissenschaftlerin), Diana Kinnert (Politikerin, Unternehmerin und Autorin) und Clemens Schick (Schauspieler).

Wir haben das große Glück in einer Gesellschaft zu leben, die noch nie so vielfältig und liberal war. Die anhaltenden Debatten zeigen jedoch, dass dieser Zustand nicht als Selbstverständlichkeit missverstanden werden darf. Deshalb ist es wichtiger denn je, die Initiative fortzusetzen. Wir freuen uns, erneut vier Projekte auszeichnen zu dürfen, die sich trotz unterschiedlichster Widerstände beispiellos für unsere offene Gesellschaft engagieren“, betont Elfriede Buben, Leiterin Corporate Responsibility bei der Philip Morris GmbH.

Die Jury hat folgende Projekte ausgezeichnet:

  • Kulturristen Hoch 2, Stiftung Generationen-Zusammenhalt

KULTURISTEN2, Stiftung Generationen-Zusammenhalt

Die Initiative bildet Tandems aus SeniorInnen und OberstufenschülerInnen, die gemeinsam Kulturveranstaltungen wie Ausstellungen, Theater- oder Opernaufführungen besuchen. Sie nutzt die verbindende Kraft von Kunst und Kultur, um den Kontakt zwischen Menschen verschiedener Milieus, Generationen und Kulturen zu initiieren und den Zusammenhalt in den Stadtteilen zu fördern. Mit dem Preis soll die Skalierung des Projekts auf weitere Stadtteile und Städte forciert werden.

Die Jury urteilt: „Die Initiative ermöglicht einen niederschwelligen Zugang zu Kultur und fördert generationsübergreifende Begegnungen. Ohne moralische Bewertung werden die TeilnehmerInnen in ihrem oftmals isolierten und einsamen Alltag abgeholt und Jugendliche ermutigt, unsere Gesellschaft aktiv mitzugestalten.“

  • Migrantpolitan, Kampnagel

MIGRANTPOLITAN, Kampnagel

Das selbstverwaltete Veranstaltungszentrum Migrantpolitan ist für viele geflüchtete KünstlerInnen der Einstieg in die Kreativbranche und schafft langfristig reale Berufsperspektiven. Mit Hilfe der Auszeichnung soll das 12-köpfige Team zu einem professionellen Ensemble ausgebaut werden. Mit dem Preisgeld produzieren sie gemeinsam die Soap „RAMADRAM“, die zum Ramadan 2019 über YouTube verbreitet werden soll.

„Die geplante Soap ist eine authentische Abbildung arabischer Serienkultur. Auf humorvolle, aber seriöse Art wird eine unterrepräsentierte Binnenperspektive erfahrbar gemacht. Der oftmals künstlerisch-biografische Zugang ermöglicht einen Perspektivwechsel, der gut tut. Die teilweise ironische Umsetzung ist ein heilbarer Gegenentwurf in einer angespannten Zeit“, sagt die Jury.

  • Musik für einen Stadtteil, Stadtteilkantorat Mümmelmannsberg & Trimum e.V.

MUSIK FÜR EINEN STADTTEIL, Stadtteilkantorat Mümmelmannsberg & Trimum e.V.

In Hamburgs Brennpunktviertel Mümmelmannsberg setzt sich das interreligiöse Gemeinschaftsprojekt für den Abbau von Fremdheitsgefühlen ein und entwickelt gemeinsam mit muslimischen, christlichen und jüdischen MusikerInnen und KünstlerInnen musikalische Veranstaltungsformate. Durch gemeinsames Musizieren soll der Vielstimmigkeit von über einhundert Herkunftskulturen im Viertel ein adäquater Ausdruck verliehen werden. Durch den Preis kann das Projekt für ein weiteres Jahr verlässlich fortgeführt werden.

Das Jury-Gremium erläutert: „Das Projekt versetzt einen gesamten Stadtteil in Bewegung. Mit seinem generationsübergreifenden, interreligiösen und interkulturellen Angebot gibt es den vielfältigen Identitäten eine Bühne. Der ganzheitliche Ansatz der InitiatorInnen hat Signalwirkung: Begegnungen zu ermöglichen, ist eine Lebenseinstellung.“

  • Weiter Schreiben, wearedoingit e.V.

WEITER SCHREIBEN, wearedoingit e.V.

Die Initiative von 100 Frauen ermöglicht geflüchteten SchriftstellerInnen die Fortsetzung ihrer Arbeit im Exil. Gemeinsam mit renommierten deutschen AutorInnen wie Annett Gröschner, Nora Bossong und Nino Haratischwili sollen die Arbeiten der KünstlerInnen im Exil in den Vordergrund rücken. Mit dem Preisgeld wird die bisherige Online-Plattform um ein künstlerisch gestaltetes Printmagazin erweitert.

„In einem einzigartigen Austausch entstehen Texte, die auf Grund der geplanten Publikation in die Breite wirken. Trotz biografischer Bindungen steht dabei die Qualität der literarischen Arbeit im Vordergrund. Den Initiatorinnen um Autorin Annika Reich gelingt es nicht nur eine Systemlücke zu schließen, sondern auch Ruhe und Reflexion in eine aufgeregte Debatte zu bringen“, erklärt die Jury.

 

Die „The Power of the Arts“-Initiative wurde zum zweiten Mal in Folge von der Philip Morris GmbH ausgeschrieben. Das Unternehmen engagiert sich seit Jahrzehnten für die gesellschaftliche Teilhabe aller und ist seit den 60er Jahren als Förderer großer Sammlungen, Ausstellungen und Künstler bekannt.