11.09.2017

Un-Label: Diversity, next level

Spotlights are bathing the stage in a cool blueish light. In the rows of audience chairs, a director and a lighting engineer are sitting behind large-size monitors; on the stage and in front of it, one can find deaf persons, physically and mentally disabled people, blacks, whites, Germans, Greeks. That the theater group rehearsing this afternoon at Berlin’s Pfefferberg Theater is not a usual one is becoming obvious very soon.

The performance artists, actors, and singers are part of the cultural project Un-Label, and its name marks the objective: by means of the performing arts, labels, boundaries, and biases are to be reduced, and not only vis-à-vis any specific group of persons. Questions of feminism are just as significant as migration and inclusion are. The integration of mentally and physically disabled persons is one of the great concerns of Lisette Reuter, who manages the project. “In the cultural scene in Germany, professionalism is oftentimes equated with completed education. These people have no access to that. Despite this, we work with them on a professional level.”

  • Costas Lamproulis, Lisette Reuter

Reuter works closely with the director Costas Lamproulis. Cooperating with the roughly 100 artists participating in Un-Label – some more, some less closely –, they develop concepts for performances and workshops that will then be held in Germany, Turkey, or Greece. The project’s network extends all over Europe.

The performance to be given by Un-Label at Berlin’s Pfefferberg Theater as part of a gala event on the day following the rehearsal will be a mix of song, sign language, and dance that is wild and consistent alike. Turning the most different types of characters and impairments into a functioning group of artists is “the most difficult and, at the same time, the most rewarding task” as part of his work, says Costas Lamproulis. “Difference is at the core of the entire project, and empowers us. Body, language, cultural and artistic background – all these are different in each of us. That’s what we stand for.”

“We are convinced that diversity enriches art.”

First and foremost, it takes time to turn people into self-confident artists able to hold their own on stage, who because of their origins, body, or mental impairment have met all their lives with resistance and obstacles. “In addition, lots of things here are based on trust and freedom. What counts for us is that everyone can develop further artistically. You will have to leave sufficient space for that. For our group, nothing is specified by directors or chorographers but everything will be worked out within the group.”

The confidence makes itself felt during the experience of the group in the course of the rehearsal. Errors are allowed, and sometimes even desired. And, anyway: being different, and having divergent opinions, will not be an obstacle but rather an important resource. Reuter says: “We are convinced that diversity enriches art. All have different perceptions of society, of life. This is also reflected in our work.”

Despite all the liberties offered by a laissez-faire policy: rehearsals are done in a focused manner, and the break will be exactly five minutes, which cannot even be changed upon dancer Tom Auweiler’s request that the time of the break be doubled. Reuter’s ability to hold the Un-Label construct together as well as she does is probably due to her past as a cultural manager.

She and Costas Lamproulis, who took a course as a film director and has ended up at the theater, are a well-coordinated team. It is nine years now that they have been working jointly on projects that are similar primarily because of their differences. “We do not fit into any category; that is our big problem. In Germany, we are labeled as ‘social’ by art promoters, whereas social promoters classify us as ‘art’. If you then start working in an intercultural and interdisciplinary fashion, people will no longer know where to put you.” In almost no time, Un-Label has successfully liberated itself from all existing labels and categorizations. This is now doing the project harm in some places, particularly where it’s all about the acquisition of grants.

In 2015, Reuter and Lamproulis began to devise workshops jointly with a group of artists. 16 of these artists are now an integral part of the projects, with some of them being on stage at the Pfefferberg Theater. Since its foundation some two years ago, Un-Label has become a definite authority in the world of inclusive performance art in Europe. The initiative’s message tends to spread rapidly.

Un-Label has something of a snowball effect. When we were on tour in Turkey, our coach driver was the type of grim guy that everybody knows. After a few days, he had completely warmed toward us, saying to our Turkish colleagues: ‘If everybody were like you, then there would be no wars in the world.’ Our group’s appearance must have turned something in his head. To me, our mission is also a very political one. Everybody who gets in contact with us in some way will have that ‘click’ experience. We try to change and open up society.”

The market leader in inclusion

It’s stories like that which motivate the entire team – all directors, actors, dancers, singers, and lighting engineers – to carry on. Costas Lamproulis says: “There have been many difficult moments but I’ve never gotten to a point where I would have said, now that’s it.” For people with disablements, it was more difficult. Quite a few times, there were artists coming to him to tell him that a few days ago, they were just about to leave. Most of all, they wanted to say Thanks for the power they derived from the project, which was why they were ultimately staying on. “These moments are a great motivation for us”, says Lamproulis.

Lisette Reuter likes to speak of the “Company” Un-Label, and thus it may be quite correct to use economic terms by describing the project as the market leader in the niche of the inclusive performing arts. Projects that work both interculturally and inclusively do exist. Projects combining both are very hard to find. “We are rather unique after all.”

 

Text: David Jenal
Photo: Robert Rieger

11.09.2017

Un-Label: Diversität, nächstes Level

Scheinwerfer tauchen die große Bühne in kühles, bläuliches Licht. In den Publikumsreihen sitzen ein Regisseur und ein Lichttechniker hinter großen Bildschirmen, auf und vor der Bühne finden sich Gehörlose, körperlich und geistig Behinderte, Schwarze, Weiße, Deutsche, Griechen. Dass an diesem Nachmittag keine gewöhnliche Theatergruppe im Pfefferberg Theater in Berlin probt, ist schnell klar.

Die Performancekünstler, Schauspieler und Sänger sind Teil des Kulturprojekts Un-Label, und der Name ist das Ziel: durch darstellende Künste sollen Labels, Grenzen und Vorurteile abgebaut werden, und das nicht nur gegenüber einer speziellen Personengruppe. Feministische Fragestellungen sind ebenso von Bedeutung wie Migration und Inklusion. Die Einbindung von geistig und körperlich Behinderten ist Lisette Reuter, die das Projekt leitet, ein großes Anliegen. „Professionalität wird im Kulturbetrieb in Deutschland oft mit einer abgeschlossenen Ausbildung gleichgesetzt. Dazu haben diese Menschen keinen Zugang. Wir arbeiten trotzdem auf professioneller Ebene mit ihnen.“

  • Costas Lamproulis, Lisette Reuter

Reuter arbeitet eng mit dem Regisseur Costas Lamproulis zusammen. Gemeinsam mit den rund 100 Künstlern, die teils enger, teils weniger eng an Un-Label beteiligt sind, konzipieren sie Perfomances und Workshops, die dann in Deutschland, der Türkei oder Griechenland stattfinden. Das Netzwerk des Projekts spannt sich über ganz Europa.

Die Performance, die Un-Label im Berliner Pfefferberg Theater am Tag nach der Probe im Rahmen einer Gala aufführen wird, ist eine gleichermaßen wilde wie stimmige Mischung aus Gesang, Gebärdensprache und Tanz. Aus unterschiedlichsten Charakteren und Beeinträchtigungen eine funktionierende Gruppe von Künstlern zu machen, das sei die „schwierigste und gleichzeitig schönste Aufgabe“ seiner Arbeit, so Costas Lamproulis. „Unterschiede sind der Kern des gesamten Projekts und geben uns Kraft. Körper, Sprachen, kulturelle und künstlerische Hintergründe, das alles unterscheidet sich bei jedem von uns. Dafür stehen wir.“

„Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass Diversität Kunst bereichert.

Menschen, die aufgrund ihrer Herkunft, ihres Körpers oder einer geistigen Beeinträchtigung zeit ihres Lebens auf Widerstände und Hindernisse gestoßen sind, zu selbstbewussten Künstlern zu machen, die sich auf der Bühne behaupten, dafür braucht es vor allem Zeit. „Außerdem basiert bei uns viel auf Vertrauen und Freiheiten. Für uns zählt, dass sich jeder künstlerisch weiterentwickeln kann. Dafür muss man viel Raum geben. Bei uns wird nichts von einem Regisseur oder Choreographen vorgegeben, sondern alles in der Gruppe erarbeitet.“

Das Vertrauen ist spürbar, wenn man die Gruppe während der Probe auf der Bühne erlebt. Fehler sind erlaubt, manchmal auch erwünscht. Überhaupt: Andersartigkeit und unterschiedliche Meinungen sind kein Hindernis, sondern wichtige Ressource. Reuter sagt: „Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass Diversität Kunst bereichert. Alle haben unterschiedliche Wahrnehmungen auf Gesellschaft, auf das Leben. Das spiegelt sich in der Arbeit auch wider.“

Trotz aller Freiheiten einer Politik des Laissez-faire: es wird konzentriert geprobt und die Pause geht genau fünf Minuten, daran kann auch der Wunsch von Tänzer Tom Auweiler auf eine Verdopplung der Auszeit nichts ändern. Dass Reuter das Konstrukt Un-Label so gut zusammenzuhalten weiß, liegt vermutlich an ihrer Vergangenheit als Kulturmanagerin.

Sie und Costas Lamproulis, der Filmregie studiert hat und letztlich beim Theater gelandet ist, sind ein eingespieltes Team. Seit mittlerweile neun Jahren arbeiten sie gemeinsam an Projekten, die sich vor allem in ihrer Unterschiedlichkeit gleich sind. „Wir passen in keine Kategorie, das ist unser großes Problem. In Deutschland werden wir von Kunstförderern als sozial abgestempelt, und von Sozialen als Kunst. Wenn du dann noch interkulturell und interdisziplinär arbeitest, weiß niemand mehr, wohin mit dir.“ Un-Label hat sich innerhalb kürzester Zeit erfolgreich selbst von allen bestehenden Labels und Einordungen befreit. Darunter leidet das Projekt nun an mancher Stelle, vor allem dann, wenn es um die Akquise von Fördergeldern geht.

2015 haben Reuter und Lamproulis damit begonnen, gemeinsam mit einer Gruppe von Künstlern Workshops zu konzipieren. 16 dieser Künstler sind heute fester Bestandteil des Projekts, ein Teil von ihnen steht auf der Bühne im Pfefferberg Theater. Seit der Gründung vor rund zwei Jahren ist viel passiert. Un-Label ist zu einer festen Größe in der Welt der inklusiven Performance-Kunst in Europa geworden. Die Botschaft der Initiative verbreitet sich schnell.

„Un-Label hat etwas von einem Schneeballeffekt. Als wir in der Türkei getourt sind, wurden wir von einem grimmigen Busfahrer gefahren, wie man das eben so kennt. Nach ein paar Tagen wurde er total freundlich und meinte er zu unseren türkischen Kollegen: Wenn alle so wärt wie ihr, dann gäbe es keinen Krieg auf der Welt.‘ Die Erscheinung unserer Gruppe hat bei ihm im Kopf etwas umgedreht. Für mich ist der Auftrag auch ein sehr politischer. Jeder, der irgendwie mit uns in Kontakt kommt, bei dem macht es Klick. Wir versuchen, Gesellschaft zu verändern und zu öffnen.“

Marktführer in Sachen Inklusion

Es sind Geschichten wie diese, die das gesamte Team, alle Regisseure, Schauspieler, Tänzer, Sänger und Lichttechniker, dazu motivieren, weiterzumachen. Costas Lamproulis meint: „Es gab viele schwierige Momente, aber ich war nie an einem Punkt, an dem ich gesagt habe: jetzt ist Schluss.“ Für die Menschen mit Behinderung sei es schwieriger. Oft kämen Künstler zu ihm, um ihm mitzuteilen, dass sie vor wenigen Tagen kurz davor waren, zu gehen. Vor allem aber wollen sie sich bedanken für die Kraft, die sie aus dem Projekt schöpfen und wegen der sie letztlich doch dabeibleiben. „Diese Momente sind sehr motivierend für uns“, so Lamproulis.

Lisette Reuter spricht gerne von der „Company“ Un-Label, und so ist es vielleicht recht treffend, das Projekt ganz wirtschaftlich als Marktführer zu bezeichnen in der Nische der inklusiven darstellenden Künste. Projekte, die ebenso interkulturell und inklusiv arbeiten, gibt es. Solche, die beides vereinen, findet man kaum. „Wir sind schon recht einzigartig“.

 

Text: David Jenal
Foto: Robert Rieger