23.05.2018

Interview with label m: 2017 Winner

In an interview, label m talks to us about what unites all of the winners at The Power of the Arts and what makes the award so important for multiculturalism in Germany. 

What’s next for you? What projects are coming up next?

Over the past months, we were able to move into a new space with youth culture projects in another district, and to raise more awareness for ourselves. In music, dance, painting, and interior design workshops, we are now working to prepare the GARELLY SCENE Festival, which all of us will be jointly hosting from 31 August to 9 September. Thanks to additional funding commitments that have come in, we’ll be able to continue the workshops beyond the project period while also developing new formats in collaboration with interested young people.

Which of your co-participants has left the biggest impression on you?

The common ground quickly became apparent during the presentation of the participants, who really are quite different, at the award ceremony in Berlin: The goal of promoting social inclusion for everyone via art and culture, with the means for doing so being as diverse as the target groups themselves. These similarities became immediately tangible in the warm-hearted way all of the participants interacted with one another. It was very impressive overall.

What wish were you able to fulfill with the award? How has your project changed because of it?

The first wish was met, specifically to be in a position to continue running our label m project at all – a workshop for youth culture. Being able to do so is not usually a given. We are able to bring life into new spaces and work in a more professional, thorough, and sustainable manner. We hope that this boost will lead to an ongoing, solid foundation for the future. This funding permits us to process the full diversity of youth-specific cultures in parallel workshops. Most young people are active in multiple fields. We are excited about the upcoming festival and how the groups complement each other synergistically.

Why did you apply to The Power of the Arts? Why would you recommend to other initiatives that they do the same?

The way the call for applications for The Power of the Arts is formulated aligns to a high degree with the concept label m has been implementing since 2009: To use art to foster identity and identification as a foundation for cultural integration and social inclusion. It’s worthwhile to muster the courage to look for sponsoring opportunities, even if it is the highest-endowed award in Germany for cultural inclusion. We put in the effort, and were successful.

23.05.2018

Interview mit label m: Gewinner 2017

Label m erzählen im Gespräch mit uns was alle Gewinner von The Power of the Arts vereint und was den Preis so wichtig für eine bunte Kulturlandschaft in Deutschland macht.

Wie geht es für Euch nun weiter? Welche neuen Projekte stehen an? 

In den vergangenen Monaten konnten wir uns in neuen Räumen in einem anderen Stadtteil mit Jugendkulturprojekten installieren und bekannt machen. In den Workshops Musik, Tanz, Malerei und Raumgestaltung arbeiten wir jetzt auf das GARELLY SCENE Festival hin, das wir alle gemeinsam vom 31. August bis zum 9. September gestalten werden. Durch weitere hinzugekommene Förderzusagen werden wir die Workshops über den Projektzeitraum hinaus fortführen können und parallel mit interessierten Jugendlichen im demokratischen Prozess neue Formate entwickeln.

Welcher andere Teilnehmer hat Euch am meisten beeindruckt?

Bei der Präsentation der so unterschiedlichen Teilnehmer anlässlich der Preisverleihung in Berlin wurden die Gemeinsamkeiten schnell sichtbar: Das Ziel gesellschaftliche Teilhabe Aller durch Kunst und Kultur zu fördern, wobei die Mittel so vielfältig sind wie die Zielgruppen. Diese Gemeinsamkeit schlug sich sofort in dem herzlichen Miteinander aller Teilnehmer nieder. Das war insgesamt sehr beeindruckend.

Welchen Wunsch konntet Ihr Euch durch die Auszeichnung erfüllen? Wie hat sich Euer Projekt dadurch verändert? 

Der erste Wunsch, nämlich unser Projekt label m – Werkstatt für Jugendkultur überhaupt weiter betreiben zu können, hat sich erfüllt, und das ist regelmäßig keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Wir können neue Räume mit Leben füllen und noch professioneller, gründlicher und nachhaltiger arbeiten. Wir hoffen, dass dieser Schub zu einer dauerhaften, soliden Basis für die Zukunft führen wird. Die Förderung ermöglicht es uns die ganze Vielfalt jugendspezifischer Kulturen parallel in Workshops bearbeiten zu können. Die meisten Jugendlichen sind in mehreren Sparten aktiv. Mit Spannung schauen wir auf das bevorstehende Festival und wie sich dann synergetisch die Gruppen ergänzen werden.

Warum habt Ihr Euch bei The Power of the Arts beworben? Wieso würdet Ihr anderen Initiativen empfehlen, sich zu bewerben?

Die Formulierung der Ausschreibung von The Power of the Arts entspricht in hohem Maße dem Konzept, das label m seit 2009 umsetzt: Mittels Kunst Identität und Identifikation fördern, als Grundlage für kulturelle Integration und gesellschaftliche Teilhabe. Es lohnt sich, mutig nach Fördermöglichkeiten zu suchen, auch wenn es sich dabei um den höchstdotierten Preis für kulturelle Teilhabe in Deutschland handelt. Das haben wir versucht und hatten Erfolg dabei.