This non-profit association in Saarbrücken has been combining social work and art since 2009. It places emphasis on self-awareness and cultural integration. The association is concerned with natural artistic development, integration, and cultural exchange among youth and subcultures. Their team of musicians, artists, cameramen, and helpers organize workshops, courses, and events and produce films – with the goal of bringing young people who lack direction closer to music and spray-painting walls legally.

September 07, 2017

Report on Label M.
Graffiti instead of opera.

Sprayers, skaters, rappers: anyone setting out in search of representatives of youthful urban subcultures would hardly begin in Saarbrücken. So far, the city has not been known for its exports of music and art. And it will be part of pop-cultural debates only when it comes to pulling jokes about a small, supposedly trivial German state and its capital.

For all that, the assumption that this place has no flourishing youth scenes, aspiring artists, and enthusiastic musicians would be doing Saarbrücken an injustice. Indeed, the city close to the French border, with a population of 180,000, is full of them, also thanks to label m.

Garelly-Haus © Robert Rieger
Garelly-Haus © Robert Rieger
Garelly-Haus © Robert Rieger
Garelly-Haus © Robert Rieger

Since 2009, this nonprofit organization has brought welfare work and art together in Saarbrücken. “Everybody is always asking: how can we reach young people? Well, it’s quite simple. You will reach them by simply accepting their culture, which is already there, and starting to work with it. This is what we’ve felt from the outset”, says Thomas Langhammer, who is sitting in a large downtown exhibition room, thus giving an apt outline of the basic idea. The association is all about natural artistic development, integration, and cultural interchange through youth scenes and subcultures. Artistic work is aimed at helping to disclose the strengths and weaknesses of everyone, and to work on them.

At the Garelly House – where label m now has an office, playing some of the exhibition rooms –, the great significance of the youth cultures for the association becomes rapidly apparent. There, the opening of an exhibition has been scheduled for this evening. The walls are already covered with silk-screen prints by street artists; skateboard videos are flickering across screens. In a side room, refrigerators are being filled with bottled beer. In this place, ‘exhibition’ invariably means ‘partying’ too.

Gisela Zimmermann, Thomas Langhammer, Rûken Tosun © Robert Rieger
Gisela Zimmermann, Thomas Langhammer, Rûken Tosun © Robert Rieger

“Those wanting to join will be here. Troublemakers will leave.”

Primarily, however, this means work. Plenty of work. Thomas Langhammer manages label m jointly with his partner, the artist Gisela Zimmermann, and teacher-to-be Rûken Tosun. There are no employees on fixed-term contracts, and in addition to their work for the association, the three initiators all hold main occupations. With a team comprising musicians, artists, cameramen, and assistants, they organize workshops, courses, and events, and produce films – always with the objective to teach music to young people without prospects who are drifting, and to familiarize them with the idea of spraying onto ‘legal’ walls.

It all began in Malstatt, one of Saarbrücken’s problem districts. There, Zimmermann and Tosun got to know each other during their joint work at a youth center. At the beginning, almost all the young people who were using the offerings of label m had a migration background. Meanwhile, the group also includes all-German participants. No selection criteria apply: “Those wanting to join will be here. Troublemakers will leave”, says Langhammer about the low-threshold concept.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Before this evening’s exhibition, a rickety VW bus takes the visitors to the apartment of Langhammer and Zimmermann. Next to a backyard in Saarbrücken’s old city, the two live in bright rooms, with lots of art on the walls. The are works by Walter Benjamin and Gernot Böhme on the bookshelves. The apartment is the studio of Langhammer and Zimmermann, and the place where their social work originates.

For her large-format paintings stored and leaned against the walls in the apartment, Gisela Zimmermann uses spray cans time and again. “She buys her spray cans from the same stores as the young people with whom we work. They hold her in great esteem.” Rûken Tosun admires her colleague for her standing among the city’s sprayers. The scene is comprised almost exclusively of men. “The marking of walls does tend to be a male gesture, which is perhaps the reason”, says Langhammer. Moreover, advanced culture was being dominated by men, which would ultimately rub off on subcultures too.

On the other hand, most of the participants in offerings dealing in depth with certain subjects will be female. “A workshop on the concept of one’s ‘homeland’, for instance, was made up almost of girls only. Intellectual subject matters will make girls stay on.”

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Discussions but no quarreling

‘Home’, or ‘homeland’, is one of the big subjects. The association will soon be showing its first full-length film of their own making, a documentation relating to this subject matter, in which people passing by are asked about their very personal concept of ‘homeland’. For the workshops and other offerings, it should be irrelevant where the young people come from, or what their ethnicity and religion may be. The only thing hoped for is the meeting of different influences and attitudes. Rûken Tosun says: “We seek to promote a culture of debate. We do not place under taboo any controversial topics of politics and society. Any kind of nonsensical talk during painting may offer a good opportunity to instigate a discussion.”

The fact that debate will not degenerate into quarreling is due to the relations between the youths and the association’s staff in charge, which have been built over years. They know and value one another and, in particular, will appreciate views and standpoints deviating from one’s own opinion.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Having a cup of coffee is followed by a visit to the place that has so far only been talked about: The Wall, which is the name of the 1,800-square-meter area adjacent to the Saar river. The Wall is one of the country’s largest legal graffiti surfaces. It gets newly primed at regular intervals, whereupon artists from Germany, France, and Belgium will travel to Saarbrücken for a weekend to immortalize themselves on The Wall. This Friday, it’s their turn again. The small groups are still at work, building and getting prepared. A few hundred meters up the river, work is already being done under a bridge. This is where the young people from label m are allowed to do their spraying, to try themselves. Where they come from, who they are, what else they may do – all that is of no concern here. “We want to support young people personally, but we also seek to integrate them culturally”, says Tosun, and this appears to be working well on that completely unglamorous wall behind a thermal power station. A 16-year-old is working on her first graffiti, with Langhammer and Zimmermann sitting over a glass of beer with a few boys. The atmosphere is relaxed and familiar.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

“The young people who feel like visiting have been coming back time and again for eight years now. We meanwhile know these people well and have a close personal relationship with them.” In Saarbrücken, according to Thomas Langhammer, bringing people together is easier than it is in other cities.

“It’s a good thing for the Saarland to be that small.” That’s the reason for a plethora of Saarland-related jokes; in the end, it turns into a locational advantage.

Text: David Jenal

May 23, 2017

Interview with Label M

In an interview, label m talks to us about what unites all of the winners at The Power of the Arts and what makes the award so important for multiculturalism in Germany.

What’s next for you? What projects are coming up next?

Over the past months, we were able to move into a new space with youth culture projects in another district, and to raise more awareness for ourselves. In music, dance, painting, and interior design workshops, we are now working to prepare the GARELLY SCENE Festival, which all of us will be jointly hosting from 31 August to 9 September. Thanks to additional funding commitments that have come in, we’ll be able to continue the workshops beyond the project period while also developing new formats in collaboration with interested young people.

Which of your co-participants has left the biggest impression on you?

The common ground quickly became apparent during the presentation of the participants, who really are quite different, at the award ceremony in Berlin: The goal of promoting social inclusion for everyone via art and culture, with the means for doing so being as diverse as the target groups themselves. These similarities became immediately tangible in the warm-hearted way all of the participants interacted with one another. It was very impressive overall.

What wish were you able to fulfill with the award? How has your project changed because of it?

The first wish was met, specifically to be in a position to continue running our label m project at all – a workshop for youth culture. Being able to do so is not usually a given. We are able to bring life into new spaces and work in a more professional, thorough, and sustainable manner. We hope that this boost will lead to an ongoing, solid foundation for the future. This funding permits us to process the full diversity of youth-specific cultures in parallel workshops. Most young people are active in multiple fields. We are excited about the upcoming festival and how the groups complement each other synergistically.

Why did you apply to The Power of the Arts? Why would you recommend to other initiatives that they do the same?

The way the call for applications for The Power of the Arts is formulated aligns to a high degree with the concept label m has been implementing since 2009: To use art to foster identity and identification as a foundation for cultural integration and social inclusion. It’s worthwhile to muster the courage to look for sponsoring opportunities, even if it is the highest-endowed award in Germany for cultural inclusion. We put in the effort, and were successful.

Der gemeinnützige Verein bringt seit 2009 soziale Arbeit und Kunst in Saarbrücken zusammen. Hierbei stehen Selbsterfahrung und die Integration in den kulturellen Kontext im Vordergrund. Es geht dem Verein um natürliche künstlerische Entfaltung, Integration und kulturellen Austausch durch Jugend- und Subkulturen. Mit einem Team aus Musikern, Künstlern, Kameramännern und Helfern veranstalten sie Workshops, Kurse und Events und produzieren Filme – mit dem Ziel, orientierungs- und perspektivlosen Jugendlichen Musik und das Sprühen an legalen Wänden näherzubringen.

07. September 2017

Reportage über Label M.
Graffiti statt Oper.

Sprayer, Skater, Rapper: begäbe man sich auf die Suche nach Vertretern junger, städtischer Subkulturen, man würde wohl kaum in Saarbrücken damit beginnen. Für ihre Musik- und Kunstexporte ist die Stadt bisher nicht bekannt. Und in den popkulturellen Diskurs schafft sie es immer wieder wenn es darum geht, Witze über ein kleines und vermeintlich nichtiges Bundesland und seine Landeshauptstadt zu machen.

Dabei tut man Saarbrücken Unrecht, wenn man davon ausgeht, es gäbe dort keine prosperierenden Jugendszenen, aufstrebende Künstler und passionierte Musiker. Tatsächlich ist die 180.000-Einwohner-Stadt kurz vor der französischen Grenze voll von ihnen, auch dank label m.

Garelly-Haus © Robert Rieger
Garelly-Haus © Robert Rieger
Garelly-Haus © Robert Rieger
Garelly-Haus © Robert Rieger

Der gemeinnützige Verein bringt seit 2009 soziale Arbeit und Kunst in Saarbrücken zusammen. „Alle stellen sich immer die Frage: wie erreicht man Jugendliche? Es ist ganz einfach. Man erreicht sie, indem man ihre Kultur, die schon vorhanden ist, einfach aufnimmt und anfängt, damit zu arbeiten. Das haben wir von Beginn an gespürt“, sagt Thomas Langhammer, während er in einem großen Ausstellungsraum im Zentrum der Stadt sitzt, und damit ist die Grundidee gut umrissen. Es geht dem Verein um natürliche künstlerische Entfaltung, Integration und kulturellen Austausch durch Jugend- und Subkulturen. Künstlerische Arbeit soll dabei helfen, Stärken und Schwächen jedes Einzelnen offenzulegen und an ihnen zu arbeiten.

Im Garelly-Haus, in dem label m seit kurzem ein Büro hat und Ausstellungsräume bespielt, wird die große Bedeutung der Jugendkulturen für den Verein schnell deutlich. Am Abend findet hier eine Ausstellungseröffnung statt. Schon jetzt hängen Siebdrucke von Street Art-Künstlern an den Wänden, Skateboard-Videos flimmern auf Leinwänden. In einem Nebenzimmer werden Kühlschränke mit Bier gefüllt. Ausstellung bedeutet hier immer auch: Party.

Gisela Zimmermann, Thomas Langhammer, Rûken Tosun © Robert Rieger
Gisela Zimmermann, Thomas Langhammer, Rûken Tosun © Robert Rieger

„Wer mitmachen will, kommt. Wer stört, geht.“

Vor allem aber beutetet es Arbeit. Viel Arbeit. Thomas Langhammer führt label m gemeinsam mit seiner Lebensgefährtin und Künstlerin Gisela Zimmermann und der angehenden Lehrerin Rûken Tosun. Feste Mitarbeiter gibt es keine, und die drei Initiatoren sind neben dem Verein alle hauptberuflich tätig. Mit einem Team aus Musikern, Künstlern, Kameramännern und Helfern veranstalten sie Workshops, Kurse und Events und produzieren Filme – immer mit dem Ziel, orientierungs- und perspektivlosen Jugendlichen Musik und das Sprühen an legalen Wänden näherzubringen.

Anfangen hat alles in Malstatt, einem Problemviertel von Saarbrücken. Dort haben sich Zimmermann und Tosun während der gemeinsamen Arbeit in einem Jugendzentrum kennengelernt. Zu Beginn hatten fast alle Jugendlichen, die die Angebote von label m nutzten, Migrationshintergrund. Mittlerweile sind auch Biodeutsche unter den Teilnehmern. Auswahlkriterien gibt es keine: „Wer mitmachen will, kommt. Wer stört, geht“, so Langhammer über das niederschwellige Konzept.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Vor der Ausstellung am Abend geht es in einem klapprigen VW-Bus in die Wohnung von Langhammer und Zimmermann. In einem Hinterhof in der Saarbrücker Altstadt wohnen die beiden in hellen Räumen,  mit viel Kunst an den Wänden. Im Bücherregal stehen Walter Benjamin und Gernot Böhme. Die Wohnung dient Langhammer und Zimmermann als Atelier und Ausgangspunkt ihrer sozialen Arbeit.

Für ihre großformatigen Gemälde, die an Wände gelehnt in der Wohnung lagern, arbeitet Gisela Zimmermann immer wieder mit Spraydosen. „Sie kauft ihre Spraydosen in den gleichen Läden wie die Jugendlichen, mit denen wir arbeiten. Sie genießt großen Respekt bei ihnen.“ Rûken Tosun bewundert ihre Kollegin für ihren Stand unter den Sprayern der Stadt. Die Szene besteht fast ausschließlich aus Männern. „Das Markieren von Wänden ist ja schon eine eher männliche Geste, vielleicht liegt es daran“, so Langhammer. Außerdem sei die Hochkultur von Männern dominiert, das färbe letztlich auch auf die Subkulturen ab.

Bei Angeboten, die sich intensiv mit einem bestimmten Thema beschäftigen, ist dafür ein Großteil der Teilnehmer weiblich. „Ein Workshop zum Heimat-Begriff bestand fast nur aus Mädchen. Es sind die intellektuellen Themen, bei denen die Mädchen dabeibleiben.“

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Diskussion, aber kein Streit

Heimat ist eines der großen Themen. Demnächst zeigt der Verein seinen ersten eigenen Langfilm, eine Dokumentation zum Thema, in der Passanten zu ihrem ganz persönlichen Heimat-Begriff befragt werden. Für die Workshops und Angebote soll und darf es keine Rolle spielen, woher die Jugendlichen kommen, welcher Ethnie und Religion sie angehören. Gewünscht ist einzig das Aufeinandertreffen verschiedener Einflüsse und Haltungen. Rûken Tosun sagt: „Wir wollen eine Diskussionskultur fördern. Kontroverse politische und gesellschaftliche Themen werden bei uns nicht tabuisiert. Ein blöder Spruch beim Malen ist eine gute Gelegenheit, um eine Diskussion anzuzetteln.“

Dass die Diskussion nicht zum Streit wird, liegt an den über Jahre aufgebauten Beziehungen zwischen den Jugendlichen und den Verantwortlichen des Vereins. Man kennt und schätzt sich, und vor allem schätzt man von der eignen Meinung abweichende Ansichten und Standpunkte.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Nach einem Kaffee geht es dorthin, worüber bisher nur gesprochen wurde: an „die Wand“, wie die 1800 Quadratmeter große Fläche direkt an der Saar genannt wird. Die Mauer ist eine der größten legalen Graffitiflächen des Landes. Regelmäßig wird sie neu grundiert, woraufhin Künstler aus Deutschland, Frankreich und Belgien für ein Wochenende nach Saarbrücken kommen, um sich auf ihr zu verewigen. An diesem Freitag ist es wieder soweit. Noch bauen die kleinen Gruppen auf und bereiten sich vor. Einige hundert Meter weiter flussaufwärts wird unter einer Brücke schon gearbeitet. Hier dürfen die Jugendlichen von label m sprühen, sich ausprobieren. Woher sie kommen, wer sie sind, was sie sonst so machen – all das spielt hier keine Rolle. „Wir wollen die Jugendlichen persönlich unterstützen, aber auch kulturell integrieren“, so Tosun, und das scheint an dieser gänzlich unglamourösen Wand hinter einem Heizkraftwerk gut zu funktionieren. Eine 16-Jährige arbeitet gerade an ihrem ersten Graffito, an Biertischen sitzen Langhammer und Zimmermann mit ein paar Jungs zusammen. Die Atmosphäre ist gelöst und familiär.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

„Die Jugendlichen, die Lust haben, kommen seit acht Jahren immer wieder. Wir kennen die Menschen mittlerweile gut und haben einen engen, persönlichen Bezug zu ihnen.“ In Saarbrücken sei es einfacher als in anderen Städten, die Leute zusammenzubringen, so Thomas Langhammer.

„Es ist gut, dass das Saarland so klein ist.“ Der Grund für die zahlreichen Saarland-Witze, er wird am Ende zum Standortvorteil.

Text: David Jenal

23. Mai 2018

Interview mit Label M

Label m erzählen im Gespräch mit uns was alle Gewinner von The Power of the Arts vereint und was den Preis so wichtig für eine bunte Kulturlandschaft in Deutschland macht.

Wie geht es für Euch nun weiter? Welche neuen Projekte stehen an?

In den vergangenen Monaten konnten wir uns in neuen Räumen in einem anderen Stadtteil mit Jugendkulturprojekten installieren und bekannt machen. In den Workshops Musik, Tanz, Malerei und Raumgestaltung arbeiten wir jetzt auf das GARELLY SCENE Festival hin, das wir alle gemeinsam vom 31. August bis zum 9. September gestalten werden. Durch weitere hinzugekommene Förderzusagen werden wir die Workshops über den Projektzeitraum hinaus fortführen können und parallel mit interessierten Jugendlichen im demokratischen Prozess neue Formate entwickeln.

Welcher andere Teilnehmer hat Euch am meisten beeindruckt?

Bei der Präsentation der so unterschiedlichen Teilnehmer anlässlich der Preisverleihung in Berlin wurden die Gemeinsamkeiten schnell sichtbar: Das Ziel gesellschaftliche Teilhabe Aller durch Kunst und Kultur zu fördern, wobei die Mittel so vielfältig sind wie die Zielgruppen. Diese Gemeinsamkeit schlug sich sofort in dem herzlichen Miteinander aller Teilnehmer nieder. Das war insgesamt sehr beeindruckend.

Welchen Wunsch konntet Ihr Euch durch die Auszeichnung erfüllen? Wie hat sich Euer Projekt dadurch verändert?

Der erste Wunsch, nämlich unser Projekt label m – Werkstatt für Jugendkultur überhaupt weiter betreiben zu können, hat sich erfüllt, und das ist regelmäßig keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Wir können neue Räume mit Leben füllen und noch professioneller, gründlicher und nachhaltiger arbeiten. Wir hoffen, dass dieser Schub zu einer dauerhaften, soliden Basis für die Zukunft führen wird. Die Förderung ermöglicht es uns die ganze Vielfalt jugendspezifischer Kulturen parallel in Workshops bearbeiten zu können. Die meisten Jugendlichen sind in mehreren Sparten aktiv. Mit Spannung schauen wir auf das bevorstehende Festival und wie sich dann synergetisch die Gruppen ergänzen werden.

Warum habt Ihr Euch bei The Power of the Arts beworben? Wieso würdet Ihr anderen Initiativen empfehlen, sich zu bewerben?

Die Formulierung der Ausschreibung von The Power of the Arts entspricht in hohem Maße dem Konzept, das label m seit 2009 umsetzt: Mittels Kunst Identität und Identifikation fördern, als Grundlage für kulturelle Integration und gesellschaftliche Teilhabe. Es lohnt sich, mutig nach Fördermöglichkeiten zu suchen, auch wenn es sich dabei um den höchstdotierten Preis für kulturelle Teilhabe in Deutschland handelt. Das haben wir versucht und hatten Erfolg dabei.