29.10.2018

Mümmelmannsberg Neighborhood Cantorate: How music is creating unity across cultures

© Robert Rieger

Germany is home to people of the widest variety of origins, cultures, and religions. Stadtteilkantorat Mümmelmannsberg, a neighborhood cantorate for promoting interreligious communication, endeavors to foster peaceful coexistence in collaboration with the interreligious music project Trimum.

Everywhere in the world, there is potential for conflict when the widest array of cultures and religions come together. Stadtteilkantorat Mümmelmannsberg is working to counteract that phenomenon. Mümmelmannsberg, endearingly called “Mümmel” by its 19,000 residents, consists of 1970s housing complexes located in Billstedt, a district in the east of Hamburg. The densely-built neighborhood has strongly-marked boundaries and is home to people from the widest variety of origins – 60% of residents have an immigration background. Other parts of Hamburg view Mümmelmannsberg as being a neighborhood of social depreviation. That is precisely what makes “Mümmel” the right venue for an ambitious project: Developing a new, mutual culture through music.

  • Stephan Thieme, Rabbiner Dr. Moshe Navon, Christiane Beetz © Robert Rieger

“This is a neighborhood that is poor and relatively left behind from a social perspective, yet it simultaneously has a great deal of potential.”

Pastors Christiane Beetz and Stephan Thieme chair the association Stadtteilkantorat [neighborhood cantorate], are supported from Rabbi Dr. Moshe Navon as the contact from the Liberal Jewish Congregation. At the Church Congress in Stuttgart, they met with the association Trimum – Music for Jews, Christians, and Muslims. The latter was founded in 2012 by Bernhard Koenig to bring together Jewish, Christian, and Muslim musicians as well as theologists, academics, and composers in order to develop mutual concepts and event formats for the peaceful and constructive coexistence of religions. Stadtteilkantorat has brought to Hamburg a theory that Trimum has been developing for several years now. “This is a neighborhood that is poor and relatively left behind from a social perspective, yet it simultaneously has a great deal of potential. We can test and further develop Trimum’s approaches here for everyday practicality,” says Thieme. The two associations are collaborating closely to promote tolerant co-existence through the making of music. Every month, the residents of Mümmelmannsberg are invited to open singing in a kind of interreligious choir where people from all religions sing with one another and share sacred music. This provides fertile ground for new ideas and friendships.

  • Stephan Thieme © Robert Rieger
  • Rabbiner Dr. Moshe Navon © Robert Rieger

“The whole world lives here.”

The Stadtteilkantorat receives support from local congregations, schools, and social institutions. Culture, religion, and generations are united here. Participants consist of representatives from local Protestant, Catholic, Syrian-Aramaic Churches, Muslim associations, and Islamic collectives, yet also other neighborhood residents who are active socially, politically, or culturally. “After all, the whole world lives here,” says Beetz. Stadtteilkantorat is an institution in Mümmelmannsberg – which also becomes evident when walking through the neighborhood with Beetz, Thieme, and Navon.

“This space extends an invitation to open yourself up.”

The goal is to promote conversation about religion in the neighborhood. Instead of private settings, encounters can now take place at the Protestant Congregation Center. The building is a Lutheran Church, but doesn’t show the typical features of a church and has a sober, functional feel to it. “This space extends an invitation to open yourself up,” underscores Beetz. Everything from religious service at the beginning of school and benefit concerts to interreligious worship and monthly open singing. “This association defines no limits. We are happy to see anyone who comes from somewhere else. We even have an avowed atheist in the association,” says Beetz. At Stadtteilkantorat, it can indeed occur that an Imam is standing at the altar, with a crucifix in the background, reciting a Sura from the Qur’an. Or, it can occur that Rabbi Navon is celebrating the 200-year anniversary of Liberal Judaism on Whit Monday, because there is no Synagogue yet. “You have to picture it,” Thieme says with enthusiasm, “on Whit Monday people from Iran, from the Jewish Congregation, Christians and atheists dancing and just grooving together.”

“This is about enduring diversity, shining a positive light on otherness and being open toward it.”

One central long-term project of Trimum is the restructuring of songs for use in interreligious daily life. In preschools, schools, and retirement homes, at religious celebrations or when working with refugees. What properties does a song need to have in order to work for different religions? “The trick is not to attempt to contort all songs so they are equally singable for all religions,” explains Beetz. “This is about enduring diversity, shining a positive light on otherness and being open toward it.” Sometimes new songs are composed, and sometimes existing melodies are given new lyrics so they can be sung in trialogue. Does conflict arise? “We do not judge the theology of the Christians, and vice versa. We respect our boundaries,” Navon responds with certainty.

  • Christiane Beetz mit Teammitgliedern © Robert Rieger

“When we are at open singing and present our roots to one another, it does something to us.”

“When we are at open singing and present our roots to one another, it does something to us,” Beetz outlines in elucidation of their work. He says music is particularly suited to making connections and establishing foundation for bringing people together. The concept is future-oriented – “due to globalization, you have to examine other cultures and religions. The more present globalization is, the more necessary it becomes to address it. People kept their eyes closed for far too long.” The award from The Power of the Arts will be used to work on the project’s sustainability. The plan is for the project to be continued and become an inspiration for others to implement similar projects. Thieme firmly believes it can work – even in other places. “We want to provide other people with the tools to set up neighborhood cantorates in their region, too.”

29.10.2018

Stadtteilkantorat Mümmelmannsberg: Wie Musik einen interkulturellen Stadtteil zusammenbringt

Christiane Beetz © Robert Rieger

In Deutschland leben Menschen unterschiedlichster Herkunft, Kultur und Religion zusammen. Das Stadtteilkantorat Mümmelmannsberg, ein Verein zur Förderung interreligiöser Kommunikation, versucht, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem interreligiösen Musikprojekt Trimum, mit Musik ein Miteinander zu fördern.

In der ganzen Welt bringt das Zusammentreffen unterschiedlichster Kulturen und Religionen Konfliktpotential mit sich. Das Stadtteilkantorat Mümmelmannsberg wirkt engagiert dagegen. Mümmelmannsberg, von seinen Bewohnern liebevoll „Mümmel“ genannt, ist eine in den Siebziger Jahren im östlichen Hamburger Stadtteil Billstedt entwickelte Großraumsiedlung mit 19.000 Einwohnern. Der Stadtteil ist räumlich klar begrenzt, verdichtet bebaut und Heimat von Menschen verschiedenster Herkunft – 60% der Einwohner haben einen Migrationshintergrund. Im restlichen Hamburg wird Mümmelmannsberg als sozialer Brennpunkt betrachtet. Genau das macht „Mümmel“ zu einem Ort für ein ambitioniertes Projekt: Die Entwicklung einer neuen, gemeinsamen Kultur durch Musik.

  • Stephan Thieme, Rabbiner Dr. Moshe Navon, Christiane Beetz © Robert Rieger

„Hier gibt es einen Stadtteil, der arm und gesellschaftlich relativ weit abgehängt ist, gleichzeitig aber sehr viel Potential hat.“

Predigerin Christiane Beetz und Pastor Stephan Thieme sind Vorsitzende des Vereins Stadtteilkantorat, unterstützt werden sie von Rabbiner Dr. Moshe Navon, der sich als Ansprechpartner der Liberalen Jüdischen Gemeinde für den Verein engagiert. Auf dem Kirchentag in Stuttgart haben sie den Verein Trimum – Musik für Juden, Christen und Muslime kennengelernt. Trimum wurde 2012 von Bernhard König gegründet, um jüdische, christliche und muslimische Musiker, Theologen, Wissenschaftler und Komponisten zur Entwicklung gemeinsamer Konzepte und Veranstaltungsformate für ein friedliches und konstruktives Miteinander der Religionen zusammenzubringen. Was Trimum schon seit einigen Jahren in der Theorie entwickelt, hat das Stadtteilkantorat nach Hamburg geholt. „Hier gibt es einen Stadtteil, der arm und gesellschaftlich relativ weit abgehängt ist, gleichzeitig aber sehr viel Potential hat. Die Ansätze von Trimum können wir hier auf Alltagstauglichkeit testen und weiterentwickeln“, sagt Thieme. In enger Abstimmung arbeiten die beiden Vereine daran, durch Musizieren ein tolerantes Zusammensein zu fördern. Die Mümmelmannsberger werden zum monatlichen offenen Singen eingeladen, einer Art interreligiöser Chor, bei dem Menschen aller Religionen miteinander singen und sakrale Musik teilen. Dabei entstehen neue Ideen und Freundschaften.

  • Stephan Thieme © Robert Rieger
  • Rabbiner Dr. Moshe Navon © Robert Rieger

„Das Haus lädt dazu ein, sich zu öffnen.“

Die religiöse Frage des Stadtteils soll thematisierbar gemacht werden, statt im Privaten kann Begegnung im Evangelischen Gemeindezentrum stattfinden. Der Bau ist eine evangelisch-lutherische Kirche, die aber keine typischen Kirchenassoziationen hervorruft, sondern nüchtern und funktional daherkommt. „Das Haus lädt dazu ein, sich zu öffnen“, bekräftigt Beetz, vom Schulanfängergottesdienst über Benefizkonzerte, interreligiöse Gottesdienste bis zum monatlichen offenen Singen. „Der Verein setzt keine Grenzen. Wir freuen uns über jeden, der von woanders herkommt. Wir haben sogar einen bekennenden Atheisten im Verein“, sagt Beetz. Im Stadtteilkantorat kommt es schon einmal vor, dass ein Imam vor dem Altar, mit dem Kreuz im Hintergrund, eine Koransure rezitiert. Oder, dass Rabbiner Navon an einem Pfingstmontag das 200-jährige Jubiläum des liberalen Judentums in Hamburg feiert, weil zurzeit die Synagoge fehlt. „Das muss man sich mal vorstellen“, sagt Thieme begeistert, „an einem Pfingstmontag tanzen die Leute aus dem Iran, aus der jüdischen Gemeinde, die Christen und Atheisten, einfach alle gemeinsam und grooven vor sich hin.“

„Es geht darum, Verschiedenheit auszuhalten, unsere Andersartigkeit in ein positives Licht zu rücken und anderem gegenüber offen zu sein.“

Ein zentrales Langzeitprojekt von Trimum ist auch die Neukonzeption von Liedern, die im interreligiösen Alltag Verwendung finden können: In Kindergärten, Schulen und Altenheimen, bei religiösen Festen oder in der Arbeit mit Geflüchteten. Wie muss ein Lied beschaffen sein, damit es für unterschiedliche Religionen funktioniert? „Der Trick ist, es wird nicht auf Krampf versucht alle Lieder für alle Religionen gleichwertig singbar zu machen“, erklärt Beetz. „Es geht darum, die Verschiedenheit auszuhalten, unsere Andersartigkeit in ein positives Licht zu rücken und anderem gegenüber offen zu sein.“ Die Lieder werden teilweise komponiert oder bestehende Melodien werden umgedichtet, damit sie trialogisch gesungen werden können. Kommt es dabei auch zu Konflikten? „Wir beurteilen nicht die Theologie der Christen und umgekehrt. Wir respektieren unsere Grenzen“, entgegnet Navon bestimmt.

  • Christiane Beetz mit Teammitgliedern © Robert Rieger

„Wenn wir im offenen Singen sitzen und uns gegenseitig unsere Wurzeln vortragen, dann macht das etwas mit uns.“

„Wenn wir im offenen Singen sitzen und uns gegenseitig unsere Wurzeln vortragen, dann macht das etwas mit uns“, erklärt Beetz ihr Engagement. Musik eigne sich besonders als verbindendes Element, als Grundlage, sich menschlich anzunähern. Das Konzept ist zukunftsweisend – „durch die Globalisierung muss man sich mit anderen Kulturen und Religionen auseinandersetzen. Je mehr sie präsent ist, desto notwendiger wird es, sich mit ihr zu befassen. Da hat man viel zu lange die Augen zu gemacht.“ Mit der Unterstützung des The Power of the Arts Awards soll jetzt an der Nachhaltigkeit des Projektes gearbeitet werden. Es soll fortgeführt werden und auch Inspiration für andere sein, ähnliche Konzepte umzusetzen. Thieme glaubt fest daran, dass es funktionieren kann – auch woanders. „Wir wollen anderen Menschen das Handwerkszeug mitgeben, auch in ihrer Region Stadtteilkantorate aufzubauen.“