FAQ

If you cannot find an answer to your questions here, you can contact our contest office at any time kontakt@thepowerofthearts.de

1Who can apply for The Power of the Arts award for art and culture?
 
Eligibility is open to non-profit institutions whose projects and initiatives use art and culture to advocate for social and cultural equality as well as understanding among all people, and to take down structural, social, and cultural barriers. The award is given to projects or concepts which are yet to be realized or have just started being rolled out. To be eligible, the submitting institution must have non-profit status and be based in Germany. Furthermore, all project participants must be of legal adult age, and the project must be primarily oriented toward people aged 18 and over.
2How many projects will funding be awarded to?
 

In 2022, four projects or concepts will be awarded a sum of 50,000 euros each.

3How are the projects selected?
 

The jury procedure for The Power of the Arts is carried out over two stages. This process reviews and assesses each application comprehensively. The jury makes a preliminary selection of projects from which the awardees are chosen. The jury has the opportunity to review all of the applications submitted. Information about the jury members can be found on the website. The jury of The Power of the Arts is comprised of prominent figures from arts and culture who have an internationally recognized high level of professional expertise and likewise stand for the diversity of our society. The jury is appointed anew each year by the sponsor of the initiative The Power of the Arts, Philip Morris. Most of jury members have been on the jury since the first call for entries. While changes in the line-up are possible, there is an aim to further develop the award in terms of content and quality through continuous discourse. The jury strives for the highest level of professionalism, esteem, and respect in the deliberation and selection process.

4Can I apply with a project that has been carried out in the past and is going to be realized again?
 
Yes, that is possible. It will be advantageous for the project description to focus on potential evaluation and advances the project has undergone.
5Can I apply as a freelance band, freelance ensemble, or freelance artist?
 
Freelancers can apply provided the concept or project is going to be implemented with sponsorship from a non-profit institution or initiative (gGmbH, registered association, public law institution, etc.). That information needs to be entered accordingly in the field “Name of organization, sponsor, or event organizer” (see online application form).
6What is the application process for The Power of the Arts?
 

The following steps need to be taken to apply to The Power of the Arts:

  • Registration opens on 1 April 2022 at thepowerofthearts.de by selecting “application” in the menu.
  • You’ll then receive your login info via email.
  • You can use that info to login and start the application right away.

The application deadline is midnight (12:00 am) on 31 May 2022.

7I didn’t receive a confirmation email.
 

Confirmation of your application is sent automatically. If you haven’t received it yet, then please first check whether you entered your email address correctly, and also be sure to check your spam folder. If you still can’t find an email, then please contact the Project Office at kontakt@thepowerofthearts.de or over the phone at +49 (0) 30 53 00 29 45.

8Can I submit my application in English?
 
Applications are only accepted in German.
9How do I perform the financial calculation for the application?
 
The application needs to disclose the project’s financial structure. To do so, an editable PDF is available for download – the budget. You’ll need to download the form, fill it out, and then upload it in the next step. For expenditures which cannot yet be named with exactness, we do ask that a calculation be made for the corresponding items – i.e. please do some research to determine a number that will be as realistic as possible as a placeholder for the final amount.
10How can I save the information entered in the online form?
 
Applying via the online form takes place in several individual steps, each of which involves one or more queries and/or uploads. You can save your entries and continue editing the form at any time.
Please note that the save function will only work if you have completed all of the fields and uploaded all of the required documents for a specific step. If you are not yet able to answer an individual question, then please use a placeholder. You will be able to edit all entries up to final submission. After submission, editing will no longer be possible.
11Why are the file names of the submitted PDF documents changed?
 

All documents are automatically renamed during upload, irrespective of the name you’ve saved them under. This is done in order to be absolutely certain of correct allocation to your project and happens intentionally.

12Can I still change my application after having sent it?
 
Once you have submitted your application, you won’t be able to make any further changes to it. The Contest Office likewise cannot make any changes to applications after submission. That means you need to be certain that all information is complete when submitting the application.
13When can I expect to see a decision from the jury?
 
The jury will make its decision in September 2022. After that, the Contest Office will notify all applicants of the results from the jury session.
14What documents are needed in order for the award money to be paid out to the winners?
 

The following documents must be provided by the awardee(s) prior to payout of the award money: current notice of tax exemption; annual financial report, as available; most recent annual financial statement; articles of association or by-laws; application form for the award money; and a detailed cost and financial plan for the project.

15Are awardee projects obliged to make reference to The Power of the Arts?
 

It is important to us that you use the awardee logo of The Power of the Arts, which makes reference to the sponsor, Philip Morris GmbH, on your website and when information about the winning project is published.

16Does the award money have to be used/spent in full?
 
Yes, the award money of 50,000 euros must be used and spent in full. The award money is intended to bring sustainability to the work of awardee initiatives and projects, and to make a contribution to cultural understanding. It’s important to ensure that the submitting institutions and project participants are using the award money in a responsible manner. The cost and finance plan to be completed in the application provides the jury with a foundation to that end.
The actual costs incurred must be evidenced following project completion. During the course of the project, approval will be required for content modifications or changes which are financial in nature.
17Whom do I turn to with further questions?
 

The Project Office is happy to be at your service for all questions regarding content as well as for technical assistance. You can reach it at +49 (0) 30 53 00 29 45, Monday through Friday, between 10 a.m. and 5 p.m. and also via email at kontakt@thepowerofthearts.de. Your contact partner is Elizaveta Willert.

Please note: The demand for assistance is higher toward the end of the application period, which means waiting times are to be expected. Therefore, be sure to contact the Project Office early on with your questions.

18What is Philip Morris GmbH’s connection to The Power of the Arts?
 

The Power of the Arts award for promoting art and culture was initiated by Philip Morris GmbH in 2017. The funding as well as the entire infrastructure for the competition is provided by Philip Morris GmbH. This award is in no way associated with the company’s products.

The promotion of non-profit projects is a part of Philip Morris GmbH’s long-standing tradition of social and cultural engagement.

Philip Morris GmbH sponsors projects for the socially and physically disadvantaged, projects against domestic violence, projects for the promotion of women’s issues, for education, and for income-generating measures for young adults. The company has been well known since the 60s as a patron of large-scale collections, exhibitions, and artists. Since 2017, the company has now been combining both of these aspects via The Power of the Arts, supporting non-profit institutions which use art and culture to promote social participation for all.

The company’s socio-political commitment is summarized under Corporate Democratic Responsibility. Its study “How we really live” (Original German title: “Wie wir wirklich leben”) investigates in partnership with the Rheingold Institute the citizenry’s expectations on politics as well as how they want to be involved in political decision-making processes.  In Germany’s super election year of 2021, Philip Morris GmbH initiated Power for Democracy, a new award for projects which work to strengthen democracy.

FAQ

Sollten Sie hier keine Antwort auf Ihre Fragen finden, können Sie sich jederzeit an unser Projektbüro wenden kontakt@thepowerofthearts.de

1Wer kann sich für den Kunst- und Kulturförderpreis The Power of the Arts bewerben?
 
Bewerben können sich gemeinnützige Institutionen, die sich mit ihren Projekten und Initiativen im Bereich Kunst und Kultur für soziale und kulturelle Gleichberechtigung aller Menschen und deren Verständigung einsetzen sowie strukturelle, soziale und kulturelle Barrieren abbauen. Die Auszeichnung wird für Projekte oder Konzepte vergeben, die noch vor ihrer Realisierung stehen oder gerade erst begonnen haben. Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme ist die Gemeinnützigkeit der einreichenden Institution/Organisation, die ihren Sitz in Deutschland haben muss. Zudem müssen alle Projektbeteiligten volljährig sind und das Vorhaben sich überwiegend an Menschen ab 18 Jahre richten.
2Wie viele Projekte werden ausgezeichnet?
 

Prämiert werden 2022 vier Projekte oder Konzepte mit einer Summe von jeweils 50.000 Euro.

3Wie findet die Auswahl der Projekte statt?
 

Das Juryverfahren von The Power of the Arts erfolgt in zwei Stufen. Alle Bewerbungen werden im Rahmen dieses Verfahrens vollumfänglich berücksichtigt und begutachtet. Der Jury wird eine Vorauswahl von Projekten für die Entscheidung über die Preisträger vorgeschlagen. Die Jury hat die Möglichkeit, sämtliche eingereichten Bewerbungen einzusehen. Die Mitglieder der Jury finden Sie auf der Webseite. In der Jury von The Power of the Arts wirken Persönlichkeiten aus Kunst und Kultur mit, die hohe, international anerkannte fachliche Expertise mitbringen und ihrerseits für die Vielfalt unserer Gesellschaft stehen. Die Jury wird jedes Jahr neu durch die Philip Morris GmbH als Träger der Initiative The Power of the Arts berufen. Die meisten Jurymitglieder sind seit der ersten Ausschreibung dabei, Wechsel in der Besetzung sind möglich, wenngleich es beabsichtigt ist, den Förderpreis entlang eines fortgesetzten Diskurses inhaltlich und qualitativ weiterzuentwickeln. Die Jury strebt im Auswahlprozess und in der Debatte um die Preisträger größte Fachlichkeit, Wertschätzung und Respekt an.

4Kann ich mich mit einem Projekt bewerben, das schon einmal durchgeführt wurde und erneut durchgeführt werden soll?
 
Ja, das ist möglich. Hierbei ist es von Vorteil, den Fokus der Projektbeschreibung auf die potentielle Evaluation und Weiterentwicklung, die das Projekt erfahren hat, zu legen.
5Kann ich mich als freie Band, freies Ensemble oder freie:r Künstler:in bewerben?
 
Freischaffende Akteur:innen können sich bewerben, wenn sie ein Konzept und/oder Projekt in Trägerschaft mit einer als gemeinnützig geltenden Institution (gGmbH, eingetragener Verein, öffentlich-rechtliche Anstalt etc.) umsetzen. Diese muss dann auch im Feld „Name der Organisation, des Trägers oder Veranstalters“ angegeben sein (siehe Online-Bewerbungsformular).
6Wie läuft die Bewerbung für The Power of the Arts ab?
 

Für eine Bewerbung bei The Power of the Arts sind folgende Schritte notwendig:

  • Registrieren Sie sich ab dem 1. April 2022 auf www.thepowerofthearts.de unter dem Menüpunkt „Bewerbung“.
  • Im Anschluss bekommen Sie Ihre Login-Daten per Mail zugesendet.
  • Mit diesen Daten können Sie sich anmelden und sofort mit der Bewerbung beginnen.

Bewerbungsschluss ist 31. Mai 2022, 24.00 Uhr.

7Ich habe keine Bestätigungsmail erhalten.
 

Die Bestätigung Ihrer Bewerbung wird automatisch versandt. Sollten Sie diese nicht erhalten haben, prüfen Sie bitte zunächst, ob Sie Ihre E-Mail-Adresse ohne Tippfehler angegeben haben und überprüfen Sie auch Ihren Spam-Ordner. Sollten Sie die E-Mail dennoch nicht erhalten haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an das Projektbüro unter kontakt@thepowerofthearts.de oder telefonisch unter 030 53 00 29 45.

8Kann ich meine Bewerbung auch auf Englisch einreichen?
 

Bewerbungen werden nur in deutscher Sprache akzeptiert.

9Wie gestalte ich die finanzielle Kalkulation in der Bewerbung?
 

In der Bewerbung müssen Angaben zur finanziellen Gestaltung des Projekts gemacht werden. Dazu steht eine editierbare PDF-Datei – der Budgetplan – zum Download zur Verfügung. Diesen müssen Sie herunterladen, ausfüllen und in einem nächsten Schritt wieder hochladen. Bei Ausgaben, die zum aktuellen Zeitpunkt noch nicht exakt beziffert werden können, bitten wir Sie um eine Kalkulation der entsprechenden Positionen, indem Sie durch Recherche einen möglichst realistischen Wert ermitteln, der als Platzhalter für endgültige Summen steht.

10Wie kann ich die eingegebenen Daten im Online-Formular zwischenspeichern?
 
Die Bewerbung im Onlineformular erfolgt in mehreren Einzelschritten, die jeweils eine oder mehrere Abfragen bzw. Uploads beinhalten. Sie können Ihre Eingaben zwischenspeichern und das Formular jederzeit weiterbearbeiten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Zwischenspeichern nur funktioniert, wenn Sie alle Felder eines Schrittes ausgefüllt und alle notwendigen Dokumente hochgeladen haben. Sollten Sie auf einzelne Fragen noch keine Antwort wissen oder ein Anhang fehlen, verwenden Sie bitte einen Platzhalter. Bis zur finalen Zusendung können Sie alle Eingaben editieren. Nach dem Absenden ist keine Bearbeitung mehr möglich.
11Warum sind die Dateinamen der eingereichten PDF-Dokumente verändert?
 

Alle Dokumente werden beim Upload automatisch umbenannt, ganz gleich, unter welchem Namen Sie diese gespeichert haben. Dies dient der absolut sicheren Zuweisung zu Ihrem Projekt und ist so gewollt.

12Kann ich meine Bewerbung nach dem Absenden noch ändern?
 

Wenn Sie Ihre Bewerbung einmal abgeschickt haben, können Sie keinerlei Änderungen mehr daran vornehmen. Ebenso darf das Wettbewerbsbüro keine Änderungen in den eingetroffenen Bewerbungen vornehmen. Vergewissern Sie sich also, dass Ihre Angaben bei Absendung der Bewerbung vollständig und korrekt sind.

13Wann ist mit einer Entscheidung der Jury zu rechnen?
 

Die Entscheidung trifft die Jury im September 2022. Im Anschluss werden alle Bewerber:innen durch das Wettbewerbsbüro über den Ausgang der Jurysitzung in Kenntnis gesetzt.

14Welche Unterlagen sind für die Auszahlung des Preisgeldes an die Preisträger erforderlich?
 

Folgende Unterlagen sind von den Preisträgern vor der Auszahlung des Preisgeldes zur Verfügung zu stellen: aktueller Freistellungsbescheid, Jahresbericht sofern vorhanden, letzter Jahresabschluss, Satzung oder Geschäftsordnung, Antragsformular für das Preisgeld und ein detaillierter Kosten- und Finanzierungsplan des Projekts.

15Müssen die ausgezeichneten Projekte auf die Förderung durch The Power of the Arts hinweisen?
 

Uns ist wichtig, dass Sie das Preisträger-Logo von The Power of the Arts, in dem ein Hinweis auf den Förderer, die Philip Morris GmbH enthalten ist, auf der Webseite und in den Publikationen zum ausgezeichneten Projekt verwenden.

16Muss das Preisgeld vollständig verwendet/ausgegeben werden?
 

Ja, das Preisgeld in Höhe von 50.000 Euro muss vollständig verwendet und ausgegeben werden. Mit dem Preisgeld soll den ausgezeichneten Initiativen und Projekten die Möglichkeit gegeben werden, nachhaltig zu arbeiten und zur kulturellen Verständigung beizutragen. Es soll sichergestellt sein, dass die einreichenden Institutionen und Projektakteur:innen das Preisgeld verantwortungsvoll verwenden. Eine Grundlage, auf der die Jury diesen Aspekt beurteilt, bietet der Kosten- und Finanzierungsplan, der für die Bewerbung auszufüllen ist.

Die tatsächlichen Kosten müssen nach Projektende nachgewiesen werden. Änderungen inhaltlicher wie finanzieller Art während der Projektlaufzeit müssen genehmigt werden.

17An wen wende ich mich mit weiteren Fragen?
 

Für alle Fragen inhaltlicher Art sowie für technische Hilfe bei der Online-Bewerbung stehen die Kolleg:innen des Projektbüros gerne zur Verfügung. Sie erreichen sie unter 030 53 00 29 45 montags bis freitags zwischen 10 und 17 Uhr sowie per E-Mail an kontakt@thepowerofthearts.de. Ihre Ansprechpartnerin ist Elizaveta Willert.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass es gegen Ende der Bewerbungsfrist zu erhöhten Beratungsnachfragen kommt und Sie dann mit Wartezeiten rechnen müssen. Wenden Sie sich daher gerne schon frühzeitig mit Ihren Fragen an das Projektbüro.

18Wie ist die Verbindung der Philip Morris GmbH zu The Power of the Arts?
 

Der Kunst- und Kulturförderpreis The Power of the Arts wurde 2017 von der Philip Morris GmbH initiiert. Die Fördergelder sowie die gesamte Infrastruktur des Wettbewerbs werden von der Philip Morris GmbH gestellt. Der Förderpreis ist inhaltlich in keiner Weise mit den Produkten des Unternehmens verbunden.

Die Förderung von gemeinnützigen Projekten steht in der langjährigen Tradition des sozialen und kulturellen Engagements der Philip Morris GmbH:

Die Philip Morris GmbH fördert Projekte für sozial und körperlich Benachteiligte, Projekte gegen häusliche Gewalt, Projekte zur Förderung von Frauen, für Bildung sowie einkommensschaffende Maßnahmen für junge Erwachsene. Seit den 60er Jahren ist das Unternehmen auch als Förderer großer Sammlungen, Ausstellungen und Künstler:innen bekannt. Seit 2017 verbindet das Unternehmen mit The Power of the Arts nun beide Aspekte und unterstützt gemeinnützige Institutionen, die sich mit den Mitteln von Kunst und Kultur für die gesellschaftliche Teilhabe für alle einsetzen.

Sein gesellschaftspolitisches Engagement fasst das Unternehmen unter Corporate Democratic Responsibility zusammen. Mit der Studie „Wie wir wirklich leben“ untersucht es gemeinsam mit dem Rheingold Institut, was Bürger:innen von der Politik erwarten und wie sie in politische Entscheidungsprozesse einbezogen werden wollen. Im Superwahljahr 2021 initiierte die Philip Morris GmbH mit Power for Democracy einen neuen Award für Projekte, die sich für die Stärkung der Demokratie einsetzen.