LABA Berlin – Jüdisches Zentrum Synagoge Fraenkelufer e.V.

LABA Berlin brings together eight cultural practitioners from different disciplines to discuss classical and modern Jewish writings and to work out a socially relevant leitmotif. In this way, the literary tradition of Judaism becomes the starting point for artistic-creative discussions in the here and now. The presentation of the results in Berlin galleries and venues makes the diversity of contemporary Jewish art and culture visible in public space and enables an approach to the world of thoughts and feelings of Jews living in Berlin.

“It is necessary to initiate a contemporary discussion of centuries-old literary and religious sources. LABA Berlin not only plays to the group of those already initiated, but also points beyond itself in an exemplary way by being anchored in Berlin’s vibrant art scene. Jewish culture presents itself openly and with reference to the present and, as a scholarship programme, not only creates something new, but also opens up artistic spaces for discourse, the great significance of which could hardly have underpinned the recent documenta debate more forcefully”, says the jury.

© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
January 23, 2023

3 Questions to… Dr. Dekel Peretz, chairman Jüdisches Zentrum Synagoge Fraenkelufer e.V.

Describe your project concept in 140 characters.

Making the diversity of contemporary Jewish art and culture in Berlin visible in public space.

What will you use the funding amount of 50,000 euros for?

With the funding in 2023, we will bring together a new cohort of eight Berlin-based artists to explore taboos in the Jewish canon and in today’s society, and to organise a joint exhibition and performances.

What I wish for Germany...

…Openness and respect for diverse perspectives and curiosity to get to know different cultures better.

© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker

LABA Berlin – Jüdisches Zentrum Synagoge Fraenkelufer e.V.

LABA Berlin bringt acht Kulturschaffende verschiedener Disziplinen zusammen, um gemeinsam klassische und moderne jüdische Schriften zu diskutieren und ein gesellschaftlich relevantes Leitmotiv herauszuarbeiten. So wird die literarische Tradition des Judentums zum Ausgangspunkt für künstlerisch-kreative Auseinandersetzungen im Hier und Jetzt. Die Präsentation der Ergebnisse in Berliner Galerien und Schauplätzen macht die Vielfalt zeitgenössischer jüdischer Kunst und Kultur im öffentlichen Raum sichtbar und ermöglicht eine Annäherung an die Gedanken- und Gefühlswelt von in Berlin lebenden Jüdinnen und Juden.

„Es ist notwendig, eine zeitgenössische Diskussion jahrhundertealter literarischer und religiöser Quellen anzustoßen. LABA Berlin bespielt dabei nicht nur eine die Gruppe bereits Eingeweihter, sondern weist durch die Verankerung im lebendigen Berliner Kunstgeschehen in beispielhafter Form über sich hinaus. Offen und mit Gegenwartsbezug präsentiert sich jüdische Kultur und schafft als Stipendienprogramm nicht nur Neues, sondern öffnet künstlerische Diskursräume, deren hohe Bedeutsamkeit die jüngste documenta-Debatte kaum eindringlicher hätte grundieren können“, sagt die Jury.

© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
23. Januar 2023

3 Fragen an… Dr. Dekel Peretz, Vorsitzender Jüdisches Zentrum Synagoge Fraenkelufer e.V.

Beschreiben Sie Ihre Projektidee in 140 Zeichen.

Die Vielfalt zeitgenössischer jüdischer Kunst und Kultur in Berlin im öffentlichen Raum sichtbar machen.

Wofür werden Sie die Fördersumme von 50.000 Euro verwenden?

Wir werden mit der Förderung im Jahr 2023 eine neue Kohorte von acht Berliner Künstler:innen zusammenbringen, um Tabus im jüdischen Kanon und in der heutigen Gesellschaft zu untersuchen und dazu eine gemeinsame Ausstellung mit Performances zu veranstalten.

Ich wünsche mir für Deutschland…

…Offenheit und Respekt für diverse Perspektiven sowie Neugier, verschiedene Kulturen besser kennen zu lernen.

© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker
© Michael Romacker