ÜberLeben in schwierigen Zeiten – POLYRAMA – Museum für Lebensgeschichten

POLYRAMA – Museum für Lebensgeschichten collects life experiences of Berliners from different backgrounds on central life themes. With the idea of shaping cultural heritage in multiple voices, it brings marginalised perspectives into focus. As an “oral history museum”, POLYRAMA establishes a growing audio archive of contemporary narratives and experiments with museum forms of presentation and representation. In this way, life experiences of the present become accessible as knowledge and are stored for the future.

“This project, which is anti-educational in the best sense of the word, allows diverse themes and voices to stand side by side in equal dignity and consistently follows the idea: people are allowed to tell stories about themselves. With this basic idea, this special museum does not need any classical curation, but organises itself in the simultaneity of phenomena, themes and challenges that a diverse society faces. Polyphony is the principle in this pioneering approach, which exemplarily transfers the oral history tradition into contemporary cultural creation”, says the jury.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
January 23, 2023

3 Questions to… Anna Chrusciel and Sadaf Farahani, initiators and project leaders of POLYRAMA – Museum für Lebensgeschichten

Describe your project concept in 140 characters.

Polyrama is a museum that collects life stories of people from different backgrounds. In personal insights, they tell of the life experiences of a polyphonic society.

What will you use the funding amount of 50,000 euros for?

Polyrama has had its own premises since September 2021. We will use the funding to furnish the rooms and realise a first exhibition, which will enable people to immerse themselves in the life stories of others with all their senses.

What I wish for Germany...

… that we finally get over the concepts of integration and tolerance and find our way to an equal coexistence. That we recognise our different realities of life, listen to each other and fight together against racism, rejectionism and other forms of discrimination because they affect us all.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank

ÜberLeben in schwierigen Zeiten – POLYRAMA – Museum für Lebensgeschichten

POLYRAMA – Museum für Lebensgeschichten sammelt Lebenserfahrungen von Berliner:innen unterschiedlicher Hintergründe zu zentralen Lebensthemen. Mit der Idee, kulturelles Erbe mehrstimmig zu gestalten, rückt es marginalisierte Perspektiven in den Mittelpunkt. Als „Oral History Museum“ begründet POLYRAMA ein wachsendes Audioarchiv von Erzählungen der Gegenwart und experimentiert mit musealen Darstellungs- und Repräsentationsformen. Auf diese Weise werden Lebenserfahrungen der Gegenwart als Wissen zugänglich und für die Zukunft gespeichert.

„Dieses im besten Sinne antipädagogische Projekt lässt vielfältige Themen und Stimmen gleichwürdig nebeneinanderstehen und folgt konsequent dem Gedanken: Menschen dürfen über sich erzählen. Mit diesem Grundgedanken bedarf dieses besondere Museum keiner klassischen Kuration, sondern organisiert sich in der Gleichzeitigkeit von Phänomenen, Themen und Herausforderungen, denen sich eine diverse Gesellschaft gegenübersieht. Mehrstimmigkeit ist das Prinzip in diesem wegweisenden Ansatz, der die Oral History Tradition beispielhaft in zeitgemäßes kulturelles Schaffen überträgt“, sagt die Jury.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
23. Januar 2023

3 Fragen an… Anna Chrusciel und Sadaf Farahani, Initiatorinnen und Projektleiterinnen von POLYRAMA Berlin – Museum für Lebensgeschichten

Beschreiben Sie Ihre Projektidee in 140 Zeichen.

Polyrama ist ein Museum, das Lebensgeschichten von Menschen unterschiedlicher Hintergründe sammelt. In persönlichen Einblicken erzählen sie von den Lebenserfahrungen einer vielstimmigen Gesellschaft.

Wofür werden Sie die Fördersumme von 50.000 Euro verwenden?

Seit September 2021 hat Polyrama eigene Räumlichkeiten. Wir werden die Fördersumme dafür nutzen die Räume einzurichten und eine erste Ausstellung realisieren, die es ermöglicht in die Lebensgeschichten Anderer mit allen Sinnen einzutauchen.

Ich wünsche mir für Deutschland…

…dass wir endlich über die Konzepte von Integration und Toleranz hinwegkommen und zu einem gleichberechtigten Miteinander finden. Dass wir unsere unterschiedlichen Lebensrealitäten anerkennen, einander zuhören und gemeinsam gegen Rassismus, Ableismus und andere Formen der Diskriminierung kämpfen, weil sie uns alle betreffen.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank