Banda Internationale from Dresden has some 20 members who represent an association of musicians with and without a background as refugees. What unites them is the desire to change something about the current situation in Saxony, and particularly in Dresden: The goal is to tear down prejudices and replace them with bridges spanning cultures, religions, and ethnicities. They are looking to re-interpret the music of the homeland, irrespective of where that homeland is or was. They aim to open hearts, break down prejudices and resentments, and contribute to understanding among Saxons, Germans, and Europeans both old and new.

The band has gained a reputation for itself through political engagement against xenophobia and racism, in particular standing up against the PEGIDA movement and the strong presence it has in Dresden.

August 21, 2017

Report on Banda Internationale.
Making noise to neutralize hate in Saxony.

We find ourselves in Dresden, along the banks of the Elbe River on a Monday in August. It is early evening, on the southern bank one finds the Church of Our Lady and the Academy of Fine Arts Dresden in the low sun. Across on the other side of the Elbe River, there is a large outdoor stage directly next to the water. Considering a band is supposed to perform here later, there is surprisingly little frenzy. The mood: tense anticipation.

Two days prior, German singer Roland Kaiser performed here. The schedule for his concert is still hanging on the fridges in the backstage area. He and Banda Internationale, who are playing on the stage along the Elbe this evening, are worlds apart in more than just a musical sense.

Banda Internationale is a grouping of musicians with and without backgrounds as refugees. What unites them is the desire to change something about the current conditions in Saxony, and especially in Dresden: The goal is to tear down prejudices and replace them with the much-hailed bridges between cultures, religions, and ethnicities. A further aim is to render integration successful and create a more open Saxony – achieving all of that through music alone.

Akram Younus Ramadhan Al-Siraj, © Robert Rieger
Akram Younus Ramadhan Al-Siraj, © Robert Rieger

“Actually cool”

During the sound check along the Elbe, one hears a blend of jazz, funk, and melodies and harmonies unknown for Western ears. Akram Younus Ramadhan Al-Siraj came to Dresden two years ago from Iraq and is the sole cellist in a band otherwise heavy with wind instruments. When one asks him how he would describe his musical style, he shows a wide grin and says: “Actually cool.” He gets more specific later on. “We unite different musical disciplines like jazz and Balkan music and traditional pieces from our homelands. We always try to render these wonderfully beautiful melodies even more beautiful.” While Al-Siraj sits in the hot and stuffy backstage area, he talks about music that comes directly from his heart; his story, which he can narrate through music; the band, which is like family to him. They are grand words. The cellist is in a nearly provokingly good mood, and one believes what he says.

Michal Tomaszewski, © Robert Rieger
Michal Tomaszewski, © Robert Rieger

“Pegida has turned a lot of things upside down.”

If they absolutely wanted to establish a front man in Banda Internationale, the selection would likely fall upon Michal Tomaszewski. Born in Poland, he fled to Lower Saxony with his parents in 1989 and now works as an architect in Dresden. He believes “that you can move things with a wind band, too,” he says, while standing on the edge of the stage along the Elbe. Tomaszewski, who plays clarinet and smokes self-rolled cigarettes incessantly, does not shy away from confrontation with the adversaries the band has made for itself. To the contrary: Performances at protests against Pegida and in Freital, which is known all over Germany as a stronghold of xenophobia, are very important to him. “Pegida has turned a lot of things upside down. We were already a political band before, but since then have been even more clear in taking a stand.”

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

With the weekly parades of outraged citizens passing through Dresden, the band began to collaborate with the city’s big cultural institutions, such as theater, the Academy of Fine Arts, and museums to counteract xenophobia and those who oppose integration. Today, the band’s engagement is seen not only in the high number of performances at protests, at refugee housing sites, and in initial reception facilities, but also in the high number of visits to schools.

“One big concern in Saxony is that there is a high level of xenophobia among school children. Part of this is there is no history of migration here like there is in Western Germany,” according to Michal Tomaszewski. That is why the band’s musicians travel to schools, tell the students about their experiences as refugees, and perform concerts. Thabet Azzawi comes from Syria and plays oud, a string instrument with a long history and origins in Persia. He says: “One time we were at a school where the children had never seen a foreigner in their lives.” Often, the musicians impress through their mere presence.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

A city in flux

While the school visits are intended to tear down prejudices, the workshops at initial reception facilities and refugee residences for unaccompanied minor refugees help them to get a start in Dresden and the surrounding areas. Under the title The Kids Are Alright (trans note: sic.), the musicians rehearse pieces with them, simultaneously providing instruction. The band members quickly become role models and figures to identify with, as they themselves were new arrivals just a few years ago. The project is slated to continue in 2018.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Everyone in the band is in agreement that Dresden has transformed over the past two years. “I’ve noticed that Pegida has become smaller. Today in Dresden, you see many people from other countries, nearly as many as in some cities in western Germany. Dresden has become an open city,” says Thabet Azzawi. Since the band plays for both Germans and immigrants, he notes it is only logical that they receive coverage in the media again and again as an example of successful integration.

Ultimately, it is less the countless media reports and much more the feeling of being able to change something that keeps the band together and motivates them. Performances for right-wing students in small rural schools are more important to them than a prestigious concert at the State Chancellery.

Still, the band does enjoy standing on the giant stage along the Elbe. For no one here can hear the Pegida protesters moving through the streets of Dresden a few kilometers away. Banda Internationale drowns them out effortlessly.

May 07, 2018

Interview with Banda Internationale

Our winners from last year, Banda Internationale, spoke with us about their work since receiving the award and the obligations of a cohesive society.

What’s next for you? What projects are coming up next?

Following a somewhat surprising, yet ultimately positive sponsor change, we will be continuing our project work with children and teenagers. In addition to the prize money from The Power of the Arts, we recently received funding confirmation from the State of Saxony, such that over the next two years we will be able to perform more than 40 workshops and a dozen concerts with Banda Internationale at schools and youth centers, as well as weekly rehearsals for unaccompanied refugee minors and instrumental instruction for nearly 20 children per week.

The principal objective continues to be the integration and equitable inclusion for teenagers with and without a migration background in Saxony. For us, this is fundamentally about portraying education and inclusion as positive categories in coexistence and our society, rendering them tangible in real life. Segregation and separation have to be identified as a process for which there is no room in a cohesive society.

We view integration to be a process for the whole of society that must call upon people with a migration background and the social majority alike to pursue active collaboration in shaping society. Accordingly, another one of the goals to our project for the next two years, House of Music, is to reinforce the social cohesion among young people in Saxony’s society. The funds from The Power of the Arts are being fully dedicated to that endeavor.

What wish were you able to fulfill with the award? How has your project changed because of it?

The award from The Power of the Arts not only provided us with encouragement to get involved in intercultural education and pedagogical work and made us more independent from institutional and state funding, it certainly also encouraged those we look to for support to continue sponsoring us.

Which of your co-participants has left the biggest impression on you?

That isn’t so easy for us to answer. We primarily spent the evening with the participants from the project label m, with whom exchanged addresses and actually planned to visit each other. That hasn’t happened yet, but we are confident we’ll remain in contact. The project Un-Label left a deep impression on us through its inclusive naturalness and levity, especially considering several of us deal with inclusion professionally on a daily basis. We also felt an artistic proximity to *foundationClass and the notion of first focusing on the inner values of a person rather than on origin or physical disability is probably what connects all of the nominated projects the best.

Why did you apply to The Power of the Arts? Why would you recommend to other initiatives that they do the same?

We occasionally apply for prizes and do so for a rather simple reason: unfortunately, the current media coverage is too often dominated by depressing, negative images and hate. This could give the New Right the opportunity to regain enough influence in Germany in order to shake up the current, fundamental consensus in civil society. We cannot allow this to take place and must not only contradict, but also get our own images, our own convictions, and our own stories out there. Social acknowledgment also represents an adjustment and anchoring of the moral corner stones – without wanting to seem pretentious here – shining the spotlight on positive stories of migrants, on positive energetic coexistence can only be in the interest of all who subscribe to democracy. To that end, unfortunately, we have to reconquer some of the imagery.

Banda Internationale ist eine ca. 20-köpfige Band aus Dresden und ein Zusammenschluss von Musikern mit und ohne Fluchthintergrund. Was sie vereint ist der Wunsch, an den bestehenden Verhältnisse in Sachsen und insbesondere in Dresden etwas zu ändern: Vorurteile sollen ab- und dafür die vielbesungenen Brücken zwischen Kulturen, Religionen und Ethnien aufgebaut werden. Sie wollen Heimatmusik, ganz egal wo diese Heimat ist oder war, neu interpretieren, Herzen öffnen, Vorurteile und Ressentiments abbauen und zur Verständigung zwischen neuen und alten Sachsen, Deutschen und Europäern beitragen.
Überregional bekannt wurde die Band durch ihr politisches Engagement gegen Fremdenfeindlichkeit und Rassismus, insbesondere gegen die in Dresden stark vertretene PEGIDA-Bewegung.

21. August 2017

Reportage über Banda Internationale.
Geräuschvoll gegen den sächsischen Hass.

Das Dresdner Elbufer an einem Montag im August. Es ist früher Abend, auf der südlichen Uferseite liegen die Frauenkirche und die Kunsthochschule in der tief stehenden Sonne. Gegenüber, nördlich der Elbe, steht eine große Freilichtbühne direkt am Wasser. Dafür, dass hier später eine Band auftreten soll, herrscht überraschend wenig Hektik. Die Stimmung: angespannte Vorfreude.

Zwei Tage zuvor trat hier Schlagersänger Roland Kaiser auf. Der Zeitplan für sein Konzert hängt noch an den Kühlschränken im Backstage-Bereich. Zwischen ihm und der Banda Internationale, die an diesem Abend auf der Bühne an der Elbe spielen wird, liegen nicht nur musikalisch Welten.

Die Banda Internationale ist ein Zusammenschluss von Musikern mit und ohne Fluchthintergrund. Was sie vereint ist der Wunsch, an den bestehenden Verhältnisse in Sachsen und insbesondere in Dresden etwas zu ändern: Vorurteile sollen ab- und dafür die vielbesungenen Brücken zwischen Kulturen, Religionen und Ethnien aufgebaut werden. Integration soll gelingen und ein offeneres Sachsen entstehen – und all das alleine durch Musik.

Akram Younus Ramadhan Al-Siraj, © Robert Rieger
Akram Younus Ramadhan Al-Siraj, © Robert Rieger

„Eigentlich geil.“

Während dem Soundcheck am Elbufer erklingt eine Mischform aus Jazz, Funk und für das westliche Ohr unbekannten Melodien und Harmonien. Fragt man Akram Younus Ramadhan Al-Siraj, der vor zwei Jahren aus dem Irak nach Dresden kam und der einzige Cellist der ansonsten recht blasinstrument-lastigen Band ist, wie er ihren musikalischen Stil beschreiben würde, grinst er breit und meint: „Eigentlich geil.“ Später wird er etwas konkreter. „Wir vereinen verschiedene Musikrichtungen wie Jazz mit Musik vom Balkan und traditionellen Stücken aus unseren Heimatländern. Wir versuchen immer, diese wunderschönen Melodien noch schöner zu machen.“ Während Al-Siraj im heißen und stickigen Backstage-Bereich sitzt, spricht er von Musik, die direkt von seinem Herzen komme, seiner Geschichte, die er mit der Musik erzählen könne, der Band, die wie eine Familie für ihn sei. Es sind große Worte. Dem fast provokant gut gelaunten Cellisten nimmt man sie ab.

Michal Tomaszewski, © Robert Rieger
Michal Tomaszewski, © Robert Rieger

„Pegida hat vieles auf den Kopf gestellt.“

Würde man unbedingt einen Frontmann in der Banda Internationale ausmachen wollen, die Wahl fiele wohl auf Michal Tomaszewski. Der gebürtige Pole floh 1989 mit seinen Eltern nach Niedersachsen und arbeitet heute als Architekt in Dresden. Er ist davon überzeugt, „dass man auch mit einer Blaskapelle in Dresden etwas bewegen“ könne, sagt er, während er am Geländer am Rand der Bühne an der Elbe steht. Tomaszewski, der Klarinette spielt und ohne Unterlass selbstgedrehte Zigaretten raucht, scheut die Konfrontation mit den Gegnern nicht, die sich die Band ausgesucht hat, im Gegenteil: Auftritte bei Demonstrationen gegen Pegida und in der deutschlandweit bekannten Fremdenfeinlichkeitshochburg Freital sind ihm ein großes Anliegen. „Pegida hat vieles auf den Kopf gestellt. Wir waren schon davor eine politische Band, beziehen aber seitdem noch klarer Stellung.“

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Mit dem Aufkommen der wöchentlichen Wutbürger-Umzüge durch Dresden begann sie mit großen Kulturinstitutionen in Dresden wie dem Staatsschauspiel, der Kunsthochschule und Museen gegen Fremdenfeindlichkeit und Integrationsgegner anzuarbeiten. Das Engagement der Band äußert sich heute nicht nur in zahlreichen Auftritten bei Demonstrationen, in Flüchtlingsunterkünften und Erstaufnahmeeinrichtungen, sondern auch in den Besuchen von Schulen.

„Ein großer Missstand in Sachsen ist, dass auch unter Schülern große Fremdenfeindlichkeit herrscht. Das hat auch damit zu tun, dass es hier keine Migrationsgeschichte ähnlich der in Westdeutschland gibt“, so Michal Tomaszewski. Die Musiker der Band fahren deshalb an die Schulen, erzählen den Schüler*innen von ihrer Flucht und geben Konzerte. Thabet Azzawi kommt aus Syrien, spielt Oud, ein Saiteninstrument mit langer Geschichte und Ursprung in Persien und sagt: „Wir waren mal an einer Schule, an der die Kinder in ihrem Leben noch nie einen Ausländer gesehen hatten.“ Oftmals beeindrucken die Musiker schon durch ihre bloße Anwesenheit.

 

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Eine Stadt im Wandel

Dass sich Dresden in den letzten zwei Jahren gewandelt hat, darüber sind sich in der Band alle einig. „Ich habe gemerkt, dass Pegida kleiner geworden ist. Heute sieht man in Dresden viele Menschen aus anderen Ländern, fast so wie in einigen Städten in Westdeutschland. Dresden ist eine offenere Stadt geworden“, meint Thabet Azzawi. Weil in der Band sowohl Deutsche als auch Migranten spielen, sei es für ihn nur logisch, dass sie in den Medien immer wieder als Beispiel für gelungene Migration angeführt wird.

 

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Es sind letztlich weniger die unzähligen Medienberichte sondern vielmehr das Gefühl, langfristig etwas verändern zu können, was die Band zusammenhält und motiviert. Auftritte vor Schüler*innen in kleinen Schulen auf dem Land sind ihnen wichtiger als ein prestigeträchtiges Konzert in der Staatskanzlei.

Auf der riesigen Bühne an der Elbe steht die Band an diesem Abend trotzdem gerne. Denn, die Pegida-Demonstranten, die zur gleichen Zeit wenige Kilometer entfernt durch Dresden ziehen, hört hier niemand. Die Banda Internationale übertönt sie problemlos.

07. Mai 2017

Interview mit Banda Internationale.

Unsere Gewinner aus dem letzten Jahr, haben mit uns über ihre Arbeit nach der Auszeichnung und die Pflichten in einer Solidargemeinschaft gesprochen.

Wie geht es für Euch nun weiter? Welche neuen Projekte stehen an?

Für uns geht es nach einem etwas überraschenden, aber letztendlich positiven Trägerwechsel weiter mit unserer Projektarbeit mit Kindern und Jugendlichen. Neben dem Preisgeld von The Power of the Arts haben wir kürzlich auch eine Förderzusage des Freistaates Sachsen bekommen, sodass wir in den kommenden zwei Jahren über 40 Workshops, ein dutzend Konzerte der Banda Internationale an Schulen und Jugendzentren und wöchentliche Proben mit unserer Band mit unbegleiteten jugendlichen Geflüchteten sowie Instrumentenunterricht für fast 20 Kinder jede Woche realisieren können.

Übergeordnetes Projektziel ist es nach wie vor, die Integration und gleichberechtigte Teilhabe von Jugendlichen mit und ohne Migrationshintergrund in und am gesellschaftlichen Leben in Sachsen zu verbessern. Es geht uns grundsätzlich darum, Bildung und Teilhabe als positive Kategorien des Zusammenlebens und unserer Gesellschaft zu vermitteln und aktiv im echten Leben erfahrbar zu machen. Segregation und Separation müssen als Prozess kenntlich gemacht werden, der in einer Solidargemeinschaft fehl am Platz ist.

Integration betrachten wir dabei als einen gesamtgesellschaftlichen Prozess, der sowohl Personen mit Migrationshintergrund als auch die Mehrheitsgesellschaft zu einer aktiven und gemeinsamen Ausgestaltung auffordern muss. Entsprechend ist es ein weiteres Ziel unseres für die nächsten zwei Jahre angelegten Projektes House of Music, den gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt zwischen jungen Menschen in der sächsischen Gesellschaft zu stärken. Hier fließt der Förderpreis des The Power of the Arts vollumfänglich ein.

Welchen Wunsch konntet Ihr Euch durch die Auszeichnung erfüllen? Wie hat sich Euer Projekt dadurch verändert?

Die Auszeichnung durch The Power of the Arts hat uns nicht nur in der Absicht bestärkt, uns im Bereich der interkulturellen und pädagogischen Bildungsarbeit zu engagieren, uns unabhängiger von institutioneller und staatlicher Förderung gemacht, sondern gewiss auch diejenigen, von denen wir Unterstützung erwarten, darin bestärkt, uns weiterhin zu fördern.

Welcher andere Teilnehmer hat Euch am meisten beeindruckt?

Das können wir nicht so einfach beantworten. Wir haben den Abend vor allem mit den Teilnehmer*innen des Projektes label m verbracht, Adressen ausgetauscht und uns eigentlich vorgenommen, uns gegenseitig zu besuchen. Dazu ist es noch nicht gekommen, aber wir sind zuversichtlich, weiterhin in Kontakt zu bleiben. Das Projekt Un-Label hat uns durch die inklusive Selbstverständlichkeit und Leichtigkeit tief beeindruckt, zumal einige von uns ebenfalls täglichen Umgang mit Inklusion im Beruf haben. Eine künstlerische Nähe zur *foundationClass konnten wir ebenfalls spüren und der Gedanke, zuerst auf die inneren Werte des Menschen zu achten, als auf Herkunft oder gar körperliche Beeinträchtigung verbindet alle nominierten Projekte wohl am besten.

Warum habt Ihr Euch bei The Power of the Arts beworben? Wieso würdet Ihr anderen Initiativen empfehlen, sich zu bewerben?

Wir bewerben uns manchmal um Preise und das aus einem ziemlich simplen Grund:

Die aktuelle Berichterstattung ist leider allzu oft von deprimierenden, negativen Bildern und Hass dominiert. Dies könnte der Neuen Rechte die Chance geben, wieder genügend Oberwasser in Deutschland zu gewinnen, um den bisherigen, grundsätzlichen zivilgesellschaftlichen Konsens ins Wanken zu bringen. Das dürfen wir nicht zulassen und müssen nicht nur widersprechen, sondern eigene Bilder, unsere eigene Überzeugung und unsere eigenen Geschichten auf den Tisch legen. Eine gesellschaftliche Würdigung ist auch ein Zurechtrücken und Abstecken moralischer Eckpfeiler – ohne hier überheblich wirken zu wollen – der Spot auf positive Geschichten von Migration, von positivem Energie geladenen Miteinander kann nur im Sinn aller Demokraten sein. Dahingehend müssen wir leider manche Bilder zurückerobern.