Samy Deluxe (real name Samy Sorge) was born in Hamburg on December 19th, 1977. His Sudanese father left him and his German mother when Samy was two years old. His early rap lyrics explored life without a father, cultural identity, as a dark-skinned boy from a modest household in the affluent Hamburg district of Eppendorf. In the mid-Nineties, he joined DJ Dynamite and Tropf to create the group Dynamite Deluxe. He has received all relevant music accolades, from Echo and Comet to the MTV Music Award. With more than one million albums sold, he is one of Germany’s most commercially successful rappers.

He founded the award-winning label “Deluxe Records,” published his first book along with his album “Dis wo ich herkomm,” is a father, and is increasingly engaged in social issues. After three years as an Ambassador for World AIDS Day came his work in the youth project Crossover and then his own association, “DeluxeKidz e.V.,” which uses the elements of hip hop to provide children and teenagers with access to visual, verbal, and musical culture.

His goal of recognition for rap and hip hop as an art form led to the founding of KunstWerkStadt, which became a creative epicenter for artists of various genres and professions. Rap and hip hop are the instruments Samy Deluxe uses to orchestrate his subjects. Always consistent, ever reflective, often provocative, frequently humorous, Samy Deluxe ensures he is heard and understood.

September 22, 2020

Interview with Jury Member Samy Deluxe

You’ve been in the music business for many years now. What can music give us? Can music save us?

Music can save us, yeah (laughs). Music is the soundtrack to our lives. When you’re sad, you can wallow in grief or you can find hope, or you can listen to high-tempo techno to get your heart pumping while you jog. My belief is that music can be everything. The nice thing is how everyone draws something different from music because it is so incredibly diverse.

At the moment, it sometimes feels like the differences among people - be it gender, skin color, or culture - are dividing us more and more. What would your idea be for how we could come together again in recognition of the diversity in an open society?

In my eyes, the media plays an important role here: Instead of pitting against each other, the media should be transferential and informative. Schools should be teaching a subject – similar to what used to be “ethics” class – that focuses on how to live in a diverse society. These issues are so very important today, and are being addressed far too little in schools! We need to find what it is that connects us, without hiding the fact that there are also differences. That includes talking about how people want to be addressed and called, and above all else what they don’t want to be called.

Being a musician, are the music projects at The Power of the Arts particularly close to your heart?

No, I let my decisions regarding a project be guided by my gut instinct. At the moment, it’s difficult to imagine that stage performances, concerts, and all the like will ever take place again as they did before. That’s why it is important to me that the prize money can be used to really make a difference, which is what I’m trying to assess when I’m looking at the submissions. Although, really, I listen to my gut more than I do to my head.

Juli 06, 2018

Interview with Jury Member Samy Deluxe

The rapper talks to us about his own path, his social involvement and his view of a society that is ready for the challenegs of the future.

What motivated you to join the jury?

For the past 15 years, I have been very active in promoting youth and talent both in my own club and several different institutions. I have my own little studio and my own record label where I give a lot of people the room they need to develop and to grow. When the inquiry came from The Power of the Arts, that was just a natural fit. The money awarded is enough to really allow for these projects to move forward.

The Power of the Arts aims at the Creation of a new sense of collectivity – how do you envision this new “us“?

As a result of the global interconnection – and this is especially true for artists – the radius in which we move around has grown tremendously. In the past, as a musician you had to fight your way to become known and perform onstage, somehow and somewhere. These days, you can just upload a video on YouTube and become world-famous. Thanks to Instagram, everyone suddenly has their own gallery. These are crazy times that we are living in. Everyone can access information everywhere and for free. This is a good foundation for learning from past generations´ mistakes and for the present generation to grow.

Why is it important for us as a society to fight for a new sense of community at this time?

The when is not important: It is always important to become involved. Of course, every company and every individual can argue that it has nothing to do with what they do. But there is also the option of using one´s resources or one´s power to make a difference and to support things that one deems positive without any self-interest.

The results of the last election certainly created the feeling that right-wing politics is gaining the upper hand at the moment. But if you grew up with dark skin and a realistic view of the world like me, it actually does not feel like racism has become worse or better.

I am in favor of a sense of belonging together but at the same time I don´t like slogans that just sound nice. Because after all, these are just words. Everyone has a different background. I think it is important to give these words actual content and make sure something will acutally happen, otherwise they are just empty phrases. In my lyrics, I try to paint a bigger picture and put in more emotion – to tell the stories behid the statements.

Why are the arts so important for the creation of opportunities to participate in society?

The arts are the embassadors of the world. Culture is what defines the different parts of this world and spills over to other places. Nowadays, it is normal for white German youth to have black role-models. When I was young, this was different. In addition, there is more and more diversity. This year, the first really big Hollywood blockbuster came out that had a black super-hero: Black Panther. These are all steps that help minorities to make progress and create a new normal. Bit by bit, a host of diverse groups in different wakes of society are raising their voices. Without a voice, a person cannot do anything. The arts are the vanguard of the direction the world is headed in.

You already mentioned that you are active in various areas. What is of particular importance to you?

Using hip-hop as a tool, I want to put young people in touch with the values that made me who I am. With the help of creativity and passion, it is possible to experience success. Moreover, a sense of community is extremely important to me: Ever since I came in touch with hip-hop as a youth, my horizon has expanded tremendously. Before, I only knew my friends from school but all of a sudden, I knew people from every part of the city. Then I started to travel to hip-hop jams and a network began to develop. I would like to give more young people the opportunity to find this strength within themselves.

Samy Deluxe (bürgerlich Samy Sorge) kommt am 19. Dezember 1977 in Hamburg zur Welt. Sein sudanesischer Vater verlässt ihn und seine deutsche Mutter als Samy zwei Jahre alt ist. Das Leben ohne Vater, zwischen zwei Kulturen, als dunkelhäutiger Junge aus bescheidenen Verhältnissen im vornehmen Hamburger Eppendorf, verarbeitet er früh in ersten Rap-Texten. Mitte der Neunziger gründet er gemeinsam mit DJ Dynamite und Tropf die Formation Dynamite Deluxe. Er erhält alle relevanten Musikpreise vom Echo über den Cometen bis zum MTV Music Award. Mit über einer Million verkauften Tonträgern gehört er zu einem der kommerziell erfolgreichsten deutschen Rappern.

Er gründet sein ebenfalls preisgekröntes Label Deluxe Records, veröffentlicht mit seinem Album Dis wo ich herkomm sein erstes Buch, wird Vater und engagiert sich zunehmend sozial. Nach drei Jahren als Botschafter für den Welt-Aids-Tag folgen seine Arbeit im Jugendprojekt Crossover und schließlich sein eigener Verein DeluxeKidz e.V., der Kindern und Jugendlichen über die Elemente des Hip-Hop Zugang zu bildender, sprachlicher und musischer Kultur ermöglicht.

Sein Anspruch Rap und Hip-Hop als Kunstform zu sehen, führt zur Gründung der KunstWerkStadt, die zum kreativen Mittelpunkt für KünstlerInnen unterschiedlicher Genres und Professionen wird. Rap und Hip Hop sind die Instrumente, mit denen Samy Deluxe seine Themen orchestriert. Immer konsequent, immer reflektiert, oft provokativ, häufig humorvoll, sorgt Samy Deluxe dafür, dass er gehört und verstanden wird.

21. September 2020

Interview mit Jurymitglied Samy Deluxe

Sie sind ja nun seit vielen Jahren im Musikgeschäft tätig. Was kann Musik uns geben? Kann Musik uns retten?

Musik kann uns retten, ja (lacht). Musik ist der Soundtrack zu unserem Leben. Wenn man traurig ist, kann man in seiner Trauer schwelgen oder Hoffnung finden oder man hört zum Joggen einen schnellen Techno-Song, der den Herzschlag hochpumpt. Ich glaube Musik kann alles sein. Das Schöne ist, dass jeder etwas anderes aus der Musik zieht, weil Musik so unglaublich vielfältig ist.

Im Moment kommt es einem manchmal so vor, als würden die Unterschiede zwischen den Menschen, seien es verschiedene Geschlechter, Hautfarben oder Kulturen, uns mehr und mehr voneinander trennen. Was wäre Ihre Idee, wie wir in Anerkennung für die Vielheit einer offenen Gesellschaft wieder stärker zueinander finden könnten?

In meinen Augen spielen die Medien eine wichtige Rolle: Anstatt Gruppen gegeneinander auszuspielen, sollten sie transparent sein und informieren. In der Schule sollte es ein Fach – ähnlich wie früher „Ethik“ – geben, das sich damit auseinandersetzt, wie man in einer diversen Gesellschaft zusammenlebt. Diese Themen sind heute so wichtig und werden in der Schule viel zu wenig angesprochen! Wir müssen herausfinden, was uns verbindet, ohne zu verschweigen, dass es auch Unterschiede gibt. Dazu gehört es auch, dass wir darüber sprechen, wie Menschen angesprochen und benannt werden möchten oder vor allem auch nicht benannt werden möchten.

Liegen Ihnen als Musiker die Musikprojekte bei The Power of the Arts besonders nahe?

Nein, bei meinen Entscheidungen für ein Projekt, lasse ich mich von meinem Bauchgefühl leiten. Gerade ist es schwer vorstellbar, dass Bühnenaufführungen, Auftritte und all das jemals wieder wie früher stattfinden wird. Daher ist es mir wichtig, dass mit dem Preisgeld wirklich etwas bewirkt werden kann. Das versuche ich bei der Betrachtung der Einreichungen einzuschätzen, aber tatsächlich höre ich mehr auf meinen Bauch als auf meinen Kopf.

06. Juli 2018

Interview mit Jurymitglied Samy Deluxe

Der Rapper spricht mit uns über seinen eigenen Weg, sein soziales Engagement und seiner Idee von einer zukunftsfähigen Gesellschaft.

Was hat Dich dazu bewogen Teil der Jury zu werden?

Seit 15 Jahren bin ich mit meinem eigenen Verein und in verschiedenen Institutionen im Bereich der Jugend- und Talentförderung sehr aktiv. Ich habe selber ein kleines Studio und ein eigenes Label, wo ich vielen Leuten Platz gebe, sich zu entwickeln und zu wachsen. Als die Anfrage von The Power of the Arts kam, hat das einfach gepasst. Die Preisgelder sind so hoch, dass es den Projekten möglich ist, große Schritte zu gehen.

The Power of the Arts setzt sich für die Schaffung eines neuen Wir ein – wie stellst Du dir dieses „Wir“ vor?

Durch die Vernetzung der Welt – gerade, wenn ich an Künstler denke – ist der Radius in dem wir uns bewegen viel größer geworden. Früher musstest du als Musiker raus und dich irgendwie auf irgendwelche Bühnen kämpfen. Heutzutage kannst du einfach ein Video auf YouTube packen und zum Weltstar werden. Durch Instagram hat jeder plötzlich seine eigene Galerie. Das ist eine krasse Zeit in der wir leben. Informationen sind für jeden von überall umsonst zugänglich. Das schafft einen guten Nährboden, um aus Fehlern der vergangenen Generationen zu lernen und als heutige Generation zu wachsen.

Warum müssen wir uns als Gesellschaft gerade jetzt für ein neues Wir engagieren?

Der Zeitpunkt spielt keine Rolle: Engagement ist immer wichtig. Jeder Konzern und jede Einzelperson kann natürlich behaupten, dass es nichts mit einem zu tun hat. Aber man kann seine Kapazitäten oder seine Macht auch nutzen, um etwas in der Welt zu bewegen und selbstlos Dinge zu unterstützen, die man gut findet.

Natürlich wird einem durch das letzte Wahlergebnis das Gefühl vermittelt, dass rechte Politik derzeit die Überhand gewinnt. Wenn man aber, wie ich, mit dunkler Hautfarbe und einem realistischen Blick auf die Welt aufgewachsen ist, hat man nicht das Gefühl, dass der Rassismus mehr oder weniger geworden ist.

Ich bin für ein gemeinsames Wir, gleichzeitig aber kein Verfechter von positiv ausgeschmückten Slogans. Das sind eben nur Worte auf Papier. Jeder ist anders sozialisiert. Ich finde es wichtig, wenn man diese Worte, die eben nur Phrasen sein können, mit Inhalten füllt und dann wirklich etwas passiert. In meinen Texten versuche ich ein größeres Bild zu malen und mehr Emotionen reinzubringen – die Geschichte zu den Statements zu erzählen.

Warum sind die Künste für die Schaffung von Teilhabemöglichkeiten in der Gesellschaft so wichtig?

Die Künste sind die Botschafter der Welt. Kultur definiert die einzelnen Teile dieser Welt und schwappt an andere Orte über. Heutzutage ist es für deutsche weiße Jungs selbstverständlich schwarze Vorbilder zu haben. Das war in meiner Jugend noch nicht so. Außerdem gibt es immer mehr Diversität. In diesem Jahr gab es den ersten richtig großen Hollywood Blockbuster mit einem schwarzen Superhelden: Black Panther. Das sind alles Schritte, die Minderheiten fördern und eine Normalität entstehen lassen. Schritt für Schritt sind da diese ganzen unterschiedlichen Gruppen in verschiedenen Gesellschaftsinstanzen, die ihre Stimme erheben. Wenn du keine Stimme hast, kannst du nichts erreichen. Die Künste sind Vorreiter dafür, wie sich die Welt entwickelt.

Du hast ja bereits eingangs erwähnt, dass du dich vielfältig engagierst. Was liegt Dir besonders am Herzen?

Ich möchte der Jugend über Hip-Hop den Zugang zu Werten vermitteln, die mich geprägt haben. Dass man durch Kreativität und durch Leidenschaft Erfolgserlebnisse schaffen kann. Außerdem ist das Gemeinschaftsgefühl für mich ganz wichtig: seit ich Hip-Hop als Jugendlicher kennengelernt habe, hat sich mein Radius total vergrößert. Vorher kannte ich nur meine Schulfreunde und auf einmal kannte ich Leute in jedem Viertel in der Stadt. Dann bin ich auf Hip-Hop-Jams gefahren und es hat sich ein Netzwerk gebildet. Ich würde gerne mehr jungen Leuten die Möglichkeit geben, dass sie diese Kraft in sich sehen.