MeetKinoMobil by MPower e.V.

MeetKinoMobil provides young women in Berlin’s shared accommodation with a mobile cinema, giving them access to art and culture through the medium of film. In film workshops with professional filmmakers, the participants can actively participate in film and contribute with their biographies as well as their ideas about identity and a society in which they want to live in. The films will be shown at various locations, probably in the shared accommodation, in the KinoKiste Marzahn-Hellersdorf and in the summer months outside in an open-air format.

“MeetKinoMobil creates places for exchange and uses cultural (film) education as a method to empower. Professional filmmakers support the young women, give impulses and can be “role models” for them. The young women are empowered by technically and creatively enabling them to express themselves on film. They are encouraged to take their future into their own hands and become visible in the truest sense of the word”, says the jury.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
December 1, 2020

3 questions to… Mervete Bobaj, Founder and Board Member of MPower

Describe your project idea in 140 characters.

Young women get to know films made by women and the filmmakers. They take part in workshops, create their own film works and thus become narrators of the reality of their lives.

What will you use the funding of 20,000 euros for?

The prize money will be used to pay fees to the artists/filmmakers, multipliers and curators, as well as to design and print flyers, purchase materials (e.g. screens, beamers, loudspeakers, cables) and rent films.

My wish for Germany is...

I would like to see more diversity in the cultural sector in Germany.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank

MeetKinoMobil von MPower e.V.

MeetKinoMobil richtet sich an junge Frauen, die in Berliner Gemeinschaftsunterkünften leben, und eröffnet ihnen mit einem mobilen Kino den Zugang zu Kunst und Kultur über das Medium Film. In Filmworkshops mit professionellen Filmemacherinnen können die Teilnehmerinnen selbst filmisch aktiv werden und ihre Biographien sowie ihre Vorstellungen von Identität und der Gesellschaft, in der sie leben möchten, einbringen. Filme von Frauen werden an verschiedenen Orten gezeigt, in den Gemeinschaftsunterkünften, in Berliner Programm-Kinos wie das Hackesche Höfe Kino und in den Sommermonaten draußen im Open-Air-Format.

“MeetKinoMobil schafft Orte zum Austausch und nutzt kulturelle (Film-)Bildung als Empowerment-Methode. Professionelle Filmemacher:innen stärken die jungen Frauen, geben Impulse und können „Role Models“ für sie sein. Die jungen Frauen werden empowert, indem sie technisch und kreativ befähigt werden, sich filmisch auszudrücken. Sie werden ermutigt, ihre Zukunft selbst in die Hand zu nehmen und im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes sichtbar zu werden”, sagt die Jury.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
1. Dezember 2020

3 Fragen an… Mervete Bobaj, Gründerin und Vorstandsmitglied von MPower

Beschreiben Sie Ihre Projektidee in 140 Zeichen.

Junge Frauen lernen Filme von Frauen und die Filmemacherinnen kennen, sie nehmen an Workshops teil, erstellen eigene Filmarbeiten und werden so zu Erzählerinnen ihrer Lebenswirklichkeit.

Wofür werden Sie die Fördersumme von 20.000 Euro verwenden?

Das Preisgeld wird für Honorarzahlungen an die Künstlerinnen/Filmemacherinnen, Multiplikatorinnen und Kuratorinnen zum Einsatz kommen, darüber hinaus für das Design und den Druck von Flyern, Materialanschaffungen (z.B. Leinwände, Beamer, Lautsprecher, Kabel) und Filmmieten.

Ich wünsche mir für Deutschland...

… dass mehr Diversität in der Kulturbranche zu sehen ist.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank