For many refugee artists, the self-managed event center Migrantpolitan represents their start in the creative field and creates real long-term professional perspectives. With the help of this award, the 12-person team will be expanded into a professional ensemble. They will be using the prize money to jointly produce the soap RAMADRAM, which is scheduled for distribution via YouTube for Ramadan 2019.

“The planned soap is an authentic reflection of Arab series culture. The underrepresented inside perspective is rendered tangible in a humorous, yet serious manner. The often artistic-biographical approach provides for a constructive perspective change. At times ironic, its realization represents an alternative cure in these tense times”, says the jury.

November 12, 2018

Report on Migrantpolitan.
A place where the social categories of “refugees” and “locals” are left behind.

On the grounds of Hamburg’s Kampnagel performing arts center, a former machine factory in the Winterhude district, there is a temporary-looking low-rise building hidden behind trees and leaves. The golden foil balloon lettering over the entrance says: MIGRANTPOLITAN. Completely covered in light wood inside, one finds a hodgepodge of used furniture. Several leather sofas and armchairs provide space for seating. The room is bathed in red light radiating from the many colorful ceiling lights.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

This small hidden space was originally called EcoFavela and inspired by Rote Flora, a former theater that has been squatted for several decades now. EcoFavela was initiated by the artistic group Baltic Raw and later used by members of the Lampedusa Group (refugees from various African countries) as a temporary activity space. In 2015, EcoFavela was turned into Migrantpolitan – a place for, by, and with refugees for current discussions regarding integration and emancipation. Migrantpolitan deems itself to be a laboratory where the social categories of “refugees” and “locals” are left behind and individuals convene to carry out artistic projects. At Migrantpolitan, different types of people, such as members of the Refugee Radio Network and Hamburg’s artists, dramaturgs, and activists come together to create communities through mutual activities. They organize exhibitions, discussions, concerts, performances, plays, and workshops – the vicinity to Kampnagel means that a broad and diverse audience can be reached and the actors can network with the theater’s international guest artists. For many artists with a refugee biography, this represents their start in the creative industry.

“The way refugees are presented on television has nothing to do with the reality.”

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Nadine Jessen is a dramaturg at Kampnagel and one of the founders of Migrantpolitan. Together with the community, which also includes Refugee Radio Network founder Larry Moore Macaulay, curator Anas Aboura, and video artist Judith Rau, she produced the reality TV series Hello, Germany – The Immigrants. This television format accompanies various people in their attempts to find their bearings in their new home, where language problems, bureaucratic hurdles, and cultural misunderstandings shape everyday life. It is based on the docu-soap Goodbye, Germany! The Emigrants, produced by the broadcaster Vox. “The way refugees are presented on television has nothing to do with the reality. It was in light of this deficit that Hello, Germany was created,” explains Nadine Jessen. “In many countries where there is no critical newspaper reporting, those critical topics are shifted into the superficial format of a soap. Subjects like corruption can be heard in the overtones, and a real viewership has developed over time.”

“It is important to us that nobody’s life gets screened. People receive an opportunity to play a role instead of themselves.”

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

The new project Ramadram is an extension to Hello, Germany. It references the Muslim month of fasting as well as the TV dramas produced on a large scale in Syria specially for that month. Ramadram has a format seated between performance, documentary theater, and new virtual reality, and is envisioned to be avant-garde and entertaining at the same time. “The work on Hello, Germany changed our perspective a great deal. Potential and drama can be found in so many situations. We are taking a closer look at what is not being shown on television, where there is no in-depth coverage,” says camerawoman Judith Rau. Compared to Hello, Germany, where actors told their own stories, Ramadram is designed to have less of a documentary feel to it. “It is important to us that nobody’s life gets screened. People receive an opportunity to play a role instead of themselves.” Real stories, just not played by the people who are truly affected by them. Migrantpolitan will be using the support awarded by The Power of the Arts to produce Ramadram next year.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

“This is a sign we are on the right path and encourages us to remain on it.”

The program at Migrantpolitan is also met with rejection. Evidence to that end can be found next to the entry door: a stencil was used to spray “go back to your land” in Arabic writing. No reason to allow one’s spirits to droop. “We do what we want, irrespective of whether others like it or not,” responds curator Anas Aboura. “Attacks of this kind motivate us to keep going. It is a sign we are on the right path and encourages us to remain on it.”

Das selbstverwaltete Veranstaltungszentrum Migrantpolitan ist für viele geflüchtete Künstler*innen der Einstieg in die Kreativbranche und schafft langfristig reale Berufsperspektiven. Mit Hilfe der Auszeichnung soll das 12-köpfige Team zu einem professionellen Ensemble ausgebaut werden. Mit dem Preisgeld produzieren sie gemeinsam die Soap RAMADRAM, die zum Ramadan 2019 über YouTube verbreitet werden soll.

„Die geplante Soap ist eine authentische Abbildung arabischer Serienkultur. Auf humorvolle, aber seriöse Art wird eine unterrepräsentierte Binnenperspektive erfahrbar gemacht. Der oftmals künstlerisch-biografische Zugang ermöglicht einen Perspektivwechsel, der gut tut. Die teilweise ironische Umsetzung ist ein heilbarer Gegenentwurf in einer angespannten Zeit“, sagt die Jury.

12. November 2018

Reportage über Migrantpolitan.
Ein Ort, der die gesellschaftlichen Zuordnungen in „Refugees“ und „Locals“ hinter sich lässt.

Auf dem Gelände der Hamburger Kulturfabrik Kampnagel, einer ehemaligen Maschinenfabrik im Stadtteil Winterhude, versteckt sich hinter Bäumen und Blättern ein provisorisch erscheinender, grauer Flachbau. Ein Schriftzug aus goldenen Folienballons prangt über dem Eingang: MIGRANTPOLITAN. Innen komplett mit hellem Holz verkleidet, begegnet einem ein Sammelsurium gebrauchter Möbel, mehrere Ledersofas und Sessel bieten Platz zum Sitzen, der Raum ist in rotes Licht getaucht, das aus den vielen bunten Deckenleuchten strahlt.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Der kleine verborgene Ort nannte sich ursprünglich EcoFavela und war ein von der Hamburger Künstler*innengruppe Baltic Raw initiierter Nachbau der Roten Flora, der später Mitgliedern der Lampedusa-Gruppe (Geflüchtete aus diversen afrikanischen Ländern) als temporärer Aktionsraum diente. 2015 wurde aus der EcoFavela das Migrantpolitan – ein Ort für, von und mit Geflüchteten und für aktuelle Diskurse um Integration und Emanzipation. Das Migrantpolitan sieht sich als Labor, das „die gesellschaftlichen Zuordnungen in „Refugees“ und „Locals“ hinter sich lässt und dessen Akteure gemeinsam künstlerische Projekte umsetzen.“ Im Migrantpolitan kommen unterschiedliche Menschen, beispielsweise Mitglieder des Refugee Radio Networks und Hamburger Künstler*innen, Dramaturg*innen und Aktivist*innen zusammen, um durch gemeinsame Aktionen Communities aufzubauen. Veranstaltet werden Ausstellungen, Diskussionen, Konzerte, Performances, Theaterstücke und Workshops – durch die räumliche Nähe zu Kampnagel wird ein breites und diverses Publikum erreicht und die Akteure haben die Möglichkeit, sich mit den internationalen Kampnagel-Gastkünstler*innen zu vernetzen. Für viele Künstler*innen mit Fluchtbiografie ist dies der Einstieg in die professionelle Kreativbranche.

„Die Darstellung von Geflüchteten im Fernsehen hat nichts mit der Realität zu tun.“

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Nadine Jessen ist Dramaturgin auf Kampnagel und eine der Gründerinnen von Migrantpolitan. Gemeinsam mit der Community, zu der auch Refugee Radio Network Gründer Larry Moore Macaulay, Kurator Anas Aboura und Videokünstlerin Judith Rau gehören, hat sie die Reality-TV-Serie Hello Deutschland – Die Einwanderer produziert. In Anlehnung an die Doku-Soap Goodbye Deutschland! Die Auswanderer des Fernsehsenders VOX, begleitet die Serie unterschiedliche Persönlichkeiten bei ihren Versuchen in der neuen Heimat anzukommen. Sprachprobleme, bürokratische Hürden und kulturelle Missverständnisse prägen den Alltag. „Die Darstellung von Geflüchteten im Fernsehen hat nichts mit der Realität zu tun. Aus diesem Defizit heraus ist Hello Deutschland entstanden“, erklärt Nadine Jessen. „In vielen Ländern, in denen in den Zeitungen keine kritische Berichterstattung stattfindet, verlagern sich die kritischen Themen in das seichte Format einer Soap. Themen wie Korruption kann man dort in kritischen Zwischentönen heraushören, da gibt es mittlerweile eine regelrechte Sehgewohnheit bei den Zuschauern.“

„Es ist uns wichtig, dass keiner vorgeführt wird. Die Leute bekommen die Möglichkeit, eine Rolle zu spielen, statt sich selbst.“

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

Das neue Projekt Ramadram ist eine Erweiterung von Hello Deutschland und verweist auf den muslimischen Fastenmonat und die TV-Drama-Produktionen in Syrien, die in großem Maße speziell für diesen Monat produziert werden. Ramadram soll, zwischen Performance, Dokumentartheater und New Virtual Reality angesiedelt, ein gleichsam avantgardistisches wie unterhaltsames Format sein. „Durch die Arbeit an Hello Deutschland hat sich viel an unserem Blick verändert. In so vielen Situation steckt Potential und Drama. Wir schauen uns genau an, was im Fernsehen nicht gezeigt wird, wo nicht in die Tiefe gegangen wird“, sagt Kamerafrau Judith Rau. Im Vergleich zu Hello Deutschland, wo die Akteure ihre eigene Geschichte erzählt haben, soll Ramadram weniger dokumentarisch sein. „Es ist uns wichtig, dass keiner vorgeführt wird. Die Leute bekommen die Möglichkeit, eine Rolle zu spielen, statt sich selbst.“ Echte Geschichten, aber nicht von denen gespielt, die sie wirklich betreffen. Migrantpolitan wird die Unterstützung durch den The Power of the Arts Award nutzen, um Ramadram im nächsten Jahr zu produzieren.

© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger
© Robert Rieger

„Es ist ein Zeichen, dass wir auf dem richtigen Weg sind und bestärkt uns darin, auf diesem Weg zu bleiben.“

Mit seinem Programm stößt Migrantpolitan auch auf Ablehnung. Einen Hinweis darauf kann man an der Eingangstür entdecken: Hier wurde mithilfe einer Schablone ein arabischer Schriftzug gesprüht, der besagt „Geht zurück in euer Land“. Kein Grund sich unterkriegen zu lassen. „Wir machen, was wir wollen, egal, ob es anderen gefällt oder nicht“, erwidert Kurator Anas Aboura. „Angriffe dieser Art bewegen uns zum Weitermachen. Es ist ein Zeichen, dass wir auf dem richtigen Weg sind und bestärkt uns darin, auf diesem Weg zu bleiben.“