Spread more Beauty by GRAND BEAUTY, Interventionsbüro e.V.

Spread more Beauty is a radically diverse salon where beauty and care experts both with and without an immigration background, autodidacts, and professionals work together. Here, beauty is viewed as a gesture of solidarity, a concept for leading a life that is good and free from domination. Leipzig’s Grünau district is home to people of diverse social and cultural backgrounds. Here, Spread more Beauty is creating a space where beauty can, in all of its forms, connect across the boundaries of language and culture. Regular beauty sessions, special events, and workshops create the framework for encounters with oneself and with others. In this shielded atmosphere, a space is found for the realization that supposed flaws mean less than having the certainty you are completely alright just the way you are.

What a great and innovative project! Spread more Beauty is exploring what it is that constitutes beauty in a culture, and how it is written into that culture’s memory. In doing so, this transcultural beauty salon is opening up space for themes reaching far beyond the practices of beauty. At the heart of this project lies interaction based on solidarity, love, and equality. That is where the great potential of the project manifests itself, enabling people to recognize the worth found within themselves and others.”, says the jury.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
November 17, 2021

3 questions to… Frauke Frech, founder and artistic direction GRAND BEAUTY

Describe your project concept in 140 characters.

Spread more Beauty is designed to be a platform for diversity and dialog, inviting people to grow closer together using beauty as a theme and experience a diverse community in a new way.

What will you use the funding amount of 50,000 euros for?

A platform for diversity and dialog will emerge and grow through the visions of many minds and the power of their hands. That is why a large part of the prize money will go toward personnel costs, in order to honor this enormously important work for our society and to create perspectives for the diverse team. 

What I wish for Germany...

We would like to respond with comments from guests who have summarized what they think would make Germany more beautiful.

… that a few more people find the time for a smile out on the street.

… more openness and people who are not so uptight.

… tolerance and lived democracy!

… acceptance of diversity, contentment, love & understanding.

… that hatred against foreigners ceases.

… more investments be made again in cultural and youth programs.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank

Spread more Beauty von GRAND BEAUTY, Interventionsbüro e.V.

Spread more Beauty ist ein radikal vielfältiger Schönheitssalon, in dem Schönheits- und Fürsorge-Expert:innen mit und ohne Zuwanderungsgeschichte, Autodidakt:innen und Profis zusammen wirken. Schönheit gilt hier als Geste des solidarischen Umgangs miteinander, als Konzept eines guten und herrschaftsfreien Lebens. Im Stadtteil Leipzig Grünau leben Menschen vielfältiger sozialer und kultureller Prägungen. Hier kreiert Spread more Beauty einen Ort, an dem sich die Formen des Schönen über die Grenzen von Sprache und Kultur hinweg miteinander verbinden können. Regelmäßige Beauty Sessions, Sonderveranstaltungen und Workshops schaffen den Rahmen für Begegnungen mit sich selbst und Anderen. In geschützter Atmosphäre entsteht Raum für die Erkenntnis, dass vermeintliche Makel weniger bedeuten als die Gewissheit, als Mensch ganz und gar richtig zu sein.

Ein großartiges und innovatives Projekt! Spread more Beauty begibt sich auf die Spuren dessen, was Schönheit in einer Kultur ausmacht und wie sie ihr ins Gedächtnis geschrieben ist. Der transkulturelle Schönheitssalon öffnet damit einen Raum für Themen, die weit über die Schönheitspraktiken hinausweisen. Das Herz des Projekts bildet der solidarische, liebevolle und gleichberechtigte Umgang miteinander. Darin entfaltet sich das große Potential des Projektes, in dem Menschen sich selbst und andere als wertvoll erkennen können.“, sagt die Jury.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
17. November 2021

3 Fragen an… Frauke Frech, Gründerin und Künstlerische Leitung GRAND BEAUTY 

Beschreiben Sie Ihre Projektidee in 140 Zeichen.

Spread more Beauty wird als Plattform für Diversität und Dialog gestaltet, die Menschen einlädt sich durch das Thema Schönheit näher zu kommen und eine vielfältige Gemeinschaft neu zu erleben.

Wofür werden Sie die Fördersumme von 50.000 Euro verwenden?

Eine Plattform für Diversität und Dialog entsteht und wächst aus den Visionen vieler Köpfe und durch die Kraft ihrer Hände. Deswegen wird ein Großteil des Preisgeldes in Personalkosten fließen, um diese enorm wichtige Arbeit für unsere Gesellschaft zu honorieren und Perspektiven für das diverse Team zu schaffen.

Ich wünsche mir für Deutschland, …

An dieser Stelle möchten wir mit Kommentaren von Gästen antworten, die umrissen haben, was Deutschland ihrer Ansicht nach schöner machen würde.

… dass ein paar mehr Menschen, die Zeit für ein Lächeln auf der Straße finden.

… mehr Offenheit und Menschen, die nicht so verkrampft sind.

… Toleranz und gelebte Demokratie!

… das Akzeptieren von Verschiedenheiten, Zufriedenheit, Liebe & Verständnis.

… dass der Hass gegen Ausländer aufhört.

… wieder mehr Investitionen in Kulturangebote und Jugend fließen.

© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank
© David Frank